Skip to content Where Legends Are Made
College of Education Apply to UA Make a Gift

Educational Leadership, Policy, and Technology Studies

The Department of Educational Leadership, Policy and Technology Studies prepares ethical and reflective practitioners, researchers, and scholars for work in K-12, higher education, and other educational settings. Through teaching and outreach the Department strives to promote the values, knowledge, and skills needed to improve education in the state and across the region; and through the scholarly activities of its faculty and students, contribute to national research. Leadership, in all areas, requires an understanding of curricular, instructional, supervisory, and administrative processes–as well as an awareness of the ever-changing social, philosophical, historical, political, cultural, legal, moral, and economic contexts of education. Programs offered through the Department meet this challenge by focusing on knowledge construction, learning, and pedagogy, and the development of professional practice that respects diversity, honors difference, and promotes social justice. The Department also maintains an on-going, open dialogue about school improvement through its association with various federal, state, and local educational agencies and professional organizations. The Department of Educational Leadership, Policy, and Technology Studies is a full member of the University Council for Educational Administration.

Department Head:  Dr. Angela Benson

Main Office:  301 Autherine Lucy Hall

Main Office Phone: 205-348-6060



  • Educational Leadership (with Class A certification) (online)
  • Higher Education Administration
  • Higher Education Administration (online)
  • Instructional Technology (online)


  • Educational Leadership (with Class AA Instructor Leader certification) (online)
  • Educational Leadership (with Class AA Teacher Leader certification) (online)
  • Educational Leadership (with a concentration in School Library Media Specialist) (online)
    • Class AA Program of Study


  • Educational Leadership (online)
  • Higher Education Administration (traditional format)
  • Higher Education Administration (executive format) (blended)
  • Instructional Leadership
    • Nurse Educator Concentration (blended)


  • Educational Leadership
  • Instructional Leadership
    • Instructional Technology Concentration
    • Social and Cultural Studies Concentration
  • Higher Education Administration


  • College Teaching
  • Instructional Technology 
  • Social and Cultural Studies

Faculty and Staff

  • Laura Ballard

    Administrative Assistant I, Social and Cultural Studies & Instructional Technology Program Support

  • Dr. Paton Beck

    Clinical Assistant Professor, Higher Education

  • Dr. Yvette Bynum

    Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Administration

  • Dr. KC Culver

    Assistant Professor, Higher Education Administration

  • Dr. André Denham

    Associate Professor, Instructional Technology

  • Dr. Nirmala Erevelles

    Professor, Educational Leadership and Foundations of Education


  • Dr. Donald L. Gilstrap

    Dean, University Libraries and Professor, Higher Education Administration

  • Dr. James Hardin

    Clinical Assistant Professor, Technology Applications & Assessment Systems


  • Dr. David Hardy

    Associate Dean for Research & Service/Associate Professor, Higher Education

  • Dr. Claire Major

    Professor, Higher Education

  • Dr. Doug McKnight

    Professor, Educational Leadership & Foundations of Education

  • Dr. Brenda Mendiola

    Director, Alabama Superintendents Academy & Clinical Professor, Educational Administration


  • Dr. John Petrovic

    Professor, Educational Leadership and Foundations of Education


  • Dr. Margaret Rice

    Associate Professor, Computer & Applied Technology


  • Dr. Jingping Sun

    Associate Professor, Educational Leadership

  • Jordan Todd

    Program Specialist, HEA Exec Ed.D.

  • Dr. Benjamin White

    Clinical Assistant Professor, ELPTS

  • Dr. Steven Yates

    Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies, College of Communication & Information Sciences Associate Professor, School of Library & Information Studies

  • Dr. Akeisha Young

    Director of Accreditation and Assessment & Clinical Assistant Professor