Overview

The Higher Education program at The University of Alabama was founded in 1971, when a small number of such programs existed in the United States. The program today has a dynamic and nationally-recognized faculty, whose areas of scholarship include community colleges, higher education finance, college teaching and learning, student access and outcomes, and organizational behavior. Over the years, hundreds of program graduates have made a deep and positive impact in a range of higher education settings.

The program draws students with professional experience and interests in multiple institutional types, including two-year and four-year institutions, for-profit institutions, policy groups, and non-profit organizations. Across the degree programs, the curriculum is designed to challenge and expand students’ understanding, enabling creative thinking, rigorous analysis, and innovative problem solving.

The program in Higher Education at The University of Alabama welcomes applications from highly-qualified individuals who have strong academic preparation, leadership potential, and a clearly-articulated commitment to the field of higher education. Admission is competitive, as we admit a small number of students each year for our various programs.

Programs

Certificate

Application Deadlines

Tuscaloosa campus:

  • Masters of Arts (MA) in Higher Education: January 15
  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Higher Education:  January 15
  • Doctor of Education (EdD) in Higher Education: January 15

Executive program:

  • Doctor of Education (EdD) Executive Cohort:  February 15

Online program:

  • Masters of Arts (MA) in Higher Education (online): July 15 (fall) and November 1 (spring)

Qualified students interested in graduate assistantships should have all application materials by the application deadline.

Faculty

Dr. Nathaniel Bray

Professor, Higher Education
nbray@ua.edu
207 Carmichael
205-348-1169

Dr. Arleene Breaux

Associate Professor, Higher Education
apbreaux@ua.edu
328E Graves Hall
205-348-0572

Dr. David Hardy

Associate Professor, Higher Education
dhardy@ua.edu
101D Carmichael
205-348-6874

Dr. Karri Holley

Professor, Higher Education
kaholley@ua.edu
323C Graves Hall
205-348-7825

Dr. Philo Hutcheson

Professor, Higher Education
pahutcheson@ua.edu
328C Graves Hall
205-348-5641

Dr. Stephen Katsinas

Professor, Higher Education
katsinas@ua.edu
212 Carmichael
205-348-6005

Dr. Cindy Ann Kilgo

Assistant Professor, Higher Education
cakilgo@ua.edu
315J Graves Hall
205-348-5391

Dr. Frankie Santos Laanan

Professor, Higher Education
laanan@ua.edu
315E Graves
205-348-5811
website

Dr. Claire Major

Department Head and Professor, Higher Education
cmajor@ua.edu
301C Graves
205-348-1152

Dr. Steve Mobley, Jr.

Assistant Professor, Higher Education
sdmobley@ua.edu
307A Graves Hall
205-348-0542

Dr. Krystal Williams

Assistant Professor, Higher Education
klwilliams29@ua.edu
308 Graves
205-348-2823

Staff

Marylee Freeman

Program Specialist, Exec EdD
msfreeman@ua.edu
302 Graves
205-348-3828

Donna Smith

Program Support, MA/Doctoral
dbsmith@ua.edu
302 Graves Hall
205-348-6871