Overview

The Higher Education program at The University of Alabama was founded in 1971, when a small number of such programs existed in the United States. The program today has a dynamic and nationally-recognized faculty, whose areas of scholarship include community colleges, higher education finance, college teaching and learning, student access and outcomes, and organizational behavior. Over the years, hundreds of program graduates have made a deep and positive impact in a range of higher education settings.

The program draws students with professional experience and interests in multiple institutional types, including two-year and four-year institutions, for-profit institutions, policy groups, and non-profit organizations. Across the degree programs, the curriculum is designed to challenge and expand students’ understanding, enabling creative thinking, rigorous analysis, and innovative problem solving.

The program in Higher Education at The University of Alabama welcomes applications from highly-qualified individuals who have strong academic preparation, leadership potential, and a clearly-articulated commitment to the field of higher education. Admission is competitive, as we admit a small number of students each year for our various programs.

Program Coordinator:  Dr. AC Johnson

Programs

Certificate

Application Deadlines

Tuscaloosa campus:

  • Masters of Arts (MA) in Higher Education: January 15
  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Higher Education:  January 15
  • Doctor of Education (EdD) in Higher Education: January 15

Executive program:

  • Doctor of Education (EdD) Executive Cohort:  February 15

Online program:

  • Masters of Arts (MA) in Higher Education (online): July 15 (fall) and November 1 (spring) and May 15 (summer)

Qualified students interested in graduate assistantships should have all application materials by the application deadline.

Faculty

Dr. Nathaniel Bray

Professor, Higher Education
nbray@ua.edu

Dr. Arleene Breaux

Clinical Associate Professor, Higher Education
apbreaux@ua.edu

Dr. Donald L. Gilstrap

Dean, University Libraries
Professor, Higher Education Administration
dlgilstrap@bama.ua.edu

Dr. David Hardy

Associate Professor, Higher Education Administration
dhardy@ua.edu

Dr. Karri Holley

Professor, Higher Education
kaholley@ua.edu

Dr. Stephen Katsinas

Professor, Higher Education
katsinas@ua.edu

Dr. Claire Major

Professor, Higher Education
cmajor@ua.edu

Dr. A.C. Johnson

Clinical Assistant Professor, Higher Education
acjohnson@ua.edu

Dr. Steve Mobley, Jr.

Assistant Professor, Higher Education
sdmobley@ua.edu

Dr. Myron Pope

Affiliate Faculty
Vice President, Division of Student Life
myron.pope@ua.edu
website

Dr. Krystal Williams

Assistant Professor, Higher Education
klwilliams29@ua.edu

Staff

LaTara Turner

Office Associate II
latara.turner@ua.edu
205-348-6871