Elementary Education

Overview

The Elementary Education program at The University of Alabama emphasizes the contextual basis for learning, particularly within the ever-expanding global community that includes many diverse kinds of learners and educators. Our initial and advanced degree programs are dedicated to developing professionals and scholars who understand and can apply theories of teaching and learning. We seek to graduate accomplished educators who reflect through their teaching and scholarship a deep understanding of pedagogy, content, and the nature of the learner.

Elementary and Early Childhood Program Coordinator:  Dr. Holly Hilboldt Swain

Main Office:  201 Graves

Degrees

Fall 2018 Elementary and Secondary Master’s Comprehensive Exams

Faculty

Dr. Julianne Coleman

Associate Professor, Elementary Literacy Education
jucoleman@ua.edu
205-348-3248

Dr. Melisa Fowler

Clinical Associate Professor, Elementary/Science Education
mfowler@ua.edu
205-348-7239

Dr. Tracey Hodges

Assistant Professor, Literacy Education
thodges@ua.edu
205-348-6180
website

Dr. Alison Hooper

Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Education
alhooper2@ua.edu
205-348-0303

Dr. Janie Hubbard

Associate Professor, Elementary Social Studies
hubba018@ua.edu
205-348-4327

Dr. Cailin Kerch

Clinical Assistant Professor, Elementary Education
cjkerch@ua.edu

Dr. Stephanie Saclarides

Assistant Professor, Elementary Mathematics Education
essaclarides@ua.edu

Dr. Jee Kyung Suh

Assistant Professor, Science Education
jksuh@ua.edu
205-348-5246

Dr. Cynthia Sunal

Professor, Social Studies & Elementary Education
cvsunal@ua.edu
205-348-5920


Dr. Holly Hilboldt Swain

Clinical Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Education & Literacy
hhswain@ua.edu
205-348-1445

Staff

Ms. Rosetta Hawkins

Elementary Program Support
rhhawkins@ua.edu
205-348-6092

Ms. Becca Langford

Secondary & Elementary Program Assistant
relangford@ua.edu
205-348-1450

Mr. Stephen Smith

Grant Support
slsmith13@ua.edu
205-348-6070

Ms. Amanda Wells

Faculty Support
ajwells1@ua.edu
205-348-6058