Overview

The Educational Research program at the University of Alabama focuses on Research Methodology and prepares scholars to critically engage in educational research and evaluation, develop appropriate and innovative research designs, and contribute conceptually sound analyses to the overlapping fields of education, the social sciences, and the health sciences.  The strength of our program centers around a core of collaborative faculty and prominent scholars who remain dedicated to the development and application of dynamic research methodologies situated within contemporary conceptual frameworks.  Areas of specialization within our degree program include qualitative methods, quantitative methods, mixed-methodology, psychometrics, and evaluation.

Program Coordinator:  Dr. Sara Tomek

Program

Certificates

The Educational Research Program also houses two specialized certificates:  Graduate Certificate in Qualitative Research and Graduate Certificate in Quantitative Educational Research.  These certificates are open to any other degree program outside of Educational Research and require 15 credit hours of BER courses.

Faculty

Dr. Youn-Jeng Choi

Assistant Professor, Measurement and Evaluation
ychoi26@ua.edu
302 Carmichael
205-348-6600
website

Dr. Judy Giesen

Clinical Professor, Educational Research
jgiesen@ua.edu
210A Carmichael Hall
205-348-4081

Dr. Ann Godfrey

Associate Teaching Professor, Educational Research
agodfrey@ua.edu
313A Carmichael
205-348-7582

Dr. Kelly Guyotte

Assistant Professor, Qualitative Research
kwguyotte@ua.edu
306E Carmichael Hall
205-348-6878
website

Dr. Karl Hamner

Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Research
khamner@ua.edu
2305 Capital Hall
205-348-0129

Dr. Stacy Hughey-Surman

Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Research
ssurman@ua.edu
305 Carmichael
205-348-7729

Dr. Aaron Kuntz

Professor, Educational Research
amkuntz@ua.edu
306 Carmichael
205-348-5675
website

Dr. Michael Lawson

Assistant Professor, Educational Research
malawson1@ua.edu
305A Carmichael
205-348-4807

Dr. Wei Li

Assistant Professor, Educational Research
wil59@ua.edu
307C Carmichael
205-348-8087

Dr. Wenchao Ma

Assistant Professor, Educational Research
wenchao.ma@ua.edu
307B Carmichael
205-348-9229
website

Dr. Jamie Mills

Associate Professor, Educational Research
jmills@ua.edu
315 Carmichael
205-348-4227

Dr. Randall Schumacker

Professor, Educational Research
rschumacker@ua.edu
316 Carmichael
205-348-6062
website

Dr. Stephanie Anne Shelton

Assistant Professor, Qualitative Research
sashelton@ua.edu
308 Carmichael
205-348-0885
website

Dr. Sara Tomek

Associate Professor, Educational Research
stomek@ua.edu
316A Carmichael
205-348-5736

Dr. Stefanie Wind

Assistant Professor, Measurement and Evaluation
swind@ua.edu
313C Carmichael
205-348-9772

Staff

Suzanne Gibson

Faculty Support
swgibson3@ua.edu
306D Carmichael
205-348-5174

Michelle Harris

Student Support
mlharris11@ua.edu
306 Carmichael
205-348-1191