Overview

The Educational Research program at the University of Alabama focuses on Research Methodology and prepares scholars to critically engage in educational research and evaluation, develop appropriate and innovative research designs, and contribute conceptually sound analyses to the overlapping fields of education, the social sciences, and the health sciences.  The strength of our program centers around a core of collaborative faculty and prominent scholars who remain dedicated to the development and application of dynamic research methodologies situated within contemporary conceptual frameworks.  Areas of specialization within our degree program include qualitative methods, quantitative methods, mixed-methodology, psychometrics, and evaluation.

Program Coordinator:  Dr. Sara Tomek

Program

Certificates

The Educational Research Program also houses two specialized certificates:  Graduate Certificate in Qualitative Research and Graduate Certificate in Quantitative Educational Research.  These certificates are open to any other degree program outside of Educational Research and require 15 credit hours of BER courses.

Faculty

Dr. Youn-Jeng Choi

Assistant Professor, Measurement and Evaluation
ychoi26@ua.edu
205-348-6600
website

Item Response Theory
Scale Development
Psychometrics and Statistics

Dr. Judy Giesen

Clinical Professor, Educational Research
jgiesen@ua.edu
205-348-4081

Dr. Ann Godfrey

Associate Teaching Professor, Educational Research
agodfrey@ua.edu
205-348-7582

Dr. Kelly Guyotte

Assistant Professor, Qualitative Research
kwguyotte@ua.edu
205-348-6878
website

Pedagogy
Visual/Artful Methodologies
Qualitative Methodologies

Dr. Karl Hamner

Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Research
khamner@ua.edu
205-348-0129

Program Evaluation
School Improvement
Veteran Wellbeing

Dr. Stacy Hughey-Surman

Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Research
ssurman@ua.edu
205-348-7729

Classroom Assessment
Evaluating Collective Impact
Arts Evaluation

Dr. Aaron Kuntz

Professor, Educational Research
amkuntz@ua.edu
205-348-5675
website

Materialist Methodologies
Philosophy of Education
Academic Citizenship

Dr. Michael Lawson

Assistant Professor, Educational Research
malawson1@ua.edu
205-348-4807

Student/Family Engagement
Improvement Science
Mixed Methods Research

Dr. Wei Li

Assistant Professor, Educational Research
wil59@ua.edu
205-348-8087

Statistical Power Analysis
Causal Inference
Educational Policy Evaluation

Dr. Wenchao Ma

Assistant Professor, Educational Research
wenchao.ma@ua.edu
205-348-9229
website

Psychometrics
Cognitive Diagnosis Modeling
Item Response Theory

Dr. Jamie Mills

Associate Professor, Educational Research
jmills@ua.edu
205-348-4227

Dr. Randall Schumacker

Professor, Educational Research
rschumacker@ua.edu
205-348-6062
website

Multiple Regression Techniques
Multivariate Statistics
SEM Models and Applications

Dr. Stephanie Anne Shelton

Assistant Professor, Qualitative Research
sashelton@ua.edu
205-348-0885
website

Interviewing/Focus Groups
Genders and Sexualities in Ed.
Queer and Feminist Theories

Dr. Sara Tomek

Associate Professor, Educational Research
stomek@ua.edu
205-348-5736

Longitudinal Modeling
Adolescent Development
Research Design/Statistics

Dr. Stefanie Wind

Assistant Professor, Measurement and Evaluation
swind@ua.edu
205-348-9772
website

Rater-mediated assessment
Item response theory
Nonparametric IRT

Staff

Suzanne Gibson

Faculty Support
swgibson3@ua.edu
306D Carmichael
205-348-5174

Michelle Harris

Student Support
mlharris11@ua.edu
306 Carmichael
205-348-1191