Overview

The Educational Research program at the University of Alabama focuses on Research Methodology and prepares scholars to critically engage in educational research and evaluation, develop appropriate and innovative research designs, and contribute conceptually sound analyses to the overlapping fields of education, the social sciences, and the health sciences.  The strength of our program centers around a core of collaborative faculty and prominent scholars who remain dedicated to the development and application of dynamic research methodologies situated within contemporary conceptual frameworks.  Areas of specialization within our degree program include qualitative methods, quantitative methods, mixed-methodology, psychometrics, and evaluation.

Committed to Diversity

The UA Educational Research Program is committed to cultivating a scholarly community that celebrates values of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Guided by these firm commitments, we embrace a holistic perspective of diversity, which includes race; ethnicity and national origin; gender, including gender identity and expressions; sexualities; age, socioeconomic status; disabilities; religion and spirituality; as well as other identities and ideologies. Our program strives to create and actively promote a welcoming and supportive environment where diverse perspectives are encouraged, recognized, and respected.

In response to COVID-19, most admission test scores (GRE/GMAT/MAT MCAT) have been waived for Spring, Summer and Fall 2021.

Program Coordinator: Dr. Stephanie Anne Shelton

Program

Certificates

The Educational Research Program also houses two specialized certificates:  Graduate Certificate in Qualitative Research and Graduate Certificate in Quantitative Educational Research.  These certificates are open to any other degree program outside of Educational Research and require 15 credit hours of BER courses.

Faculty

Dr. Chunhua Cao

Assistant Professor, Quantitative Research
incoming fall 2021

Dr. Judy Giesen

Clinical Professor, Educational Research
jgiesen@ua.edu

Dr. Ann Godfrey

Associate Teaching Professor, Educational Research
agodfrey@ua.edu

Dr. Wenjing Guo

Clinical Assistant Professor, Qualitative Research
incoming fall 2021

Dr. Kelly Guyotte

Associate Professor, Qualitative Research
kwguyotte@ua.edu

Pedagogy
Visual/Artful Methodologies
Qualitative Methodologies

Dr. Karl Hamner

Director, Office of Evaluation
khamner@ua.edu

Dr. Stacy Hughey-Surman

Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Research
ssurman@ua.edu

Dr. Joni Lakin

Associate Professor, Educational Research
jlakin@ua.edu

Dr. Michael Lawson

Associate Professor, Educational Research
malawson1@ua.edu

Dr. Joon-Ho Lee

Assistant Professor, Educational Research
jlee296@ua.edu

Dr. Wenchao Ma

Assistant Professor, Educational Research
wenchao.ma@ua.edu
205-348-9229
website

Dr. Kaiwen Man

Assistant Professor, Educational Measurement/Quantitative Studies
kman@ua.edu

Dr. Shena Sanchez

Assistant Professor, Qualitative Research
email
Incoming fall 2021

Dr. Randall Schumacker

Professor, Educational Research
rschumacker@ua.edu
website

Dr. Stephanie Anne Shelton

Associate Professor, Qualitative Research
sashelton@ua.edu
website

Dr. Stefanie Wind

Associate Professor, Measurement and Evaluation
stefanie.wind@ua.edu
website


Staff

Suzanne Gibson

Faculty Support
swgibson3@ua.edu
306D Carmichael
205-348-5174

Michelle Harris

Student Support
mlharris11@ua.edu
306 Carmichael
205-348-1191