Our mission is to disseminate new knowledge across diverse subdisciplines in Kinesiology while preparing students for careers in school, community, rehabilitative, health, medical, sport, and athletic settings. Consistent with the vision of the University of Alabama, we have a student-centered faculty committed to high quality teaching, research, and service endeavors.

We offer undergraduate and graduate degrees in Kinesiology with areas of study focused on Exercise Science, Sport Administration, and Sport Pedagogy/Physical Education. Housed in Wade Hall, our students and faculty utilize multiple state-of-the-art laboratories and workspaces in the pursuit of their personal and professional goals.

Kinesiology at The University of Alabama: MADE TO MOVE.

The Department of Kinesiology is a member of the American Kinesiology Association.

Department Head:  Dr. Jonathan Wingo

Main Office: 1005 Moore

Degrees

BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN EDUCATION

MASTER OF ARTS

MASTER OF ARTS  (Alternative Route)

The Alternative Master of Arts degree is aimed at students with an undergraduate degree in a non-teaching field who wish to gain an alternative A certificate which enables them to teach in the public schools.

DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY 

People

Dr. Elroy Joseph Aguiar

Assistant Professor, Exercise Science
Phone 205-348-1143
ejaguiar@ua.edu
ejaguiar.people.ua.edu

Dr. Matt Curtner-Smith

Professor, Sport Pedagogy
mdsmith@ua.edu
205-348-9209

Kim Easterwood

Office Associate II
kaeasterwood@ua.edu
205-348-1455

Dr. Michael Esco

Professor, Exercise Science
mresco@ua.edu
205-348-2151

Dr. Michael Fedewa

Associate Professor, Exercise Science
mvfedewa@ua.edu
205-348-9779
website

Body Composition Assessment
Physical Activity & Health
Exercise Training Interventions

Dr. Colleen Geary

Clinical Associate Professor, Exercise Science
clgeary@ua.edu
205-348-7172

Christy Gordon

Program Assistant, Kinesiology
gordo016@ua.edu
205-348-6075

Dr. Brent Hardin

Associate Professor, Adapted Sport Pedagogy
bhardin@ua.edu
205-348-5109

Karolina Lingyte

Instructor, Adapted Athletics
klingyte@ua.edu

Dr. Hayley MacDonald

Assistant Professor, Exercise Science
hvmacdonald@ua.edu

Dr. Mark Richardson

Professor, Exercise Science
mtrichar@ua.edu

Dr. Oleg Sinelnikov

Professor, Sport Pedagogy
osinelnikov@ua.edu

Dr. Margaret Stran

Clinical Associate Professor, Adapted Athletics
mstran@ua.edu

Dr. John Vincent

Professor, Sport Management
vincent@ua.edu

Dr. Dylan Williams

Associate Professor, Sport Management
dpwilliams@ua.edu

Dr. Lee Winchester

Assistant Professor, Exercise Science
ljwinchester@ua.edu

Dr. Jonathan Wingo

Department Head and Professor, Exercise Science
jwingo@ua.edu
website

Dr. Elizabeth Woodruff

Clinical Associate Professor, Sport Pedagogy
elizabeth.woodruff@ua.edu