The Department of Kinesiology has as its mission the preparation of educators, researchers, and citizens who are professionally and academically prepared and are dedicated to addressing the physical activity needs of our society in school, community, work-site, health, medical, or athletic environments. In this regard, the Department of Kinesiology is committed to diverse cultural, educational, scientific, and cross-disciplinary approaches that emphasize the total person. One vital aspect of these efforts is to understand and educate our students and the public in the science and benefits of human movement. We support a broad multi-disciplinary, technologically sophisticated, integrative perspective that identifies exercise, sport, and skill acquisition as critical factors in preparing children and adults to become healthy, knowledgeable, culturally sensitive, and valued members of society.

We use the same multi-disciplinary and integrative approach to address the physical activity issues of an aging, and many times, under-served adult population, emphasizing the role of behaviors in the quality of education, quality of life and prevention of illness. The relationships between physical activity in human beings and various sciences are emphasized. Students will gain an understanding of the development, interpretation, application, and dissemination of knowledge that relates physical activity to human well-being.

The degrees in human performance place an emphasis on the attainment of disciplinary knowledge in the anatomical, biomechanical, developmental, physiological, and sociological aspects of physical activity, explore how physical activity relates to human well-being, and offer a choice of an area of emphasis in physical education and exercise and sport science.

The Department of Kinesiology is a member of the American Kinesiology Association.

Department Head:  Dr. Jonathan Wingo

Main Office: 1005 Moore

Degrees

BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN EDUCATION

MASTER OF ARTS

MASTER OF ARTS  (Alternative Route)

The Alternative Master of Arts degree is aimed at students with an undergraduate degree in a non-teaching field who wish to gain an alternative A certificate which enables them to teach in the public schools.

DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY 

People

Christy Barnes

Program Assistant
gordo016@ua.edu
205-348-6075

Dr. Matt Curtner-Smith

Professor, Sport Pedagogy
mdsmith@ua.edu
205-348-9209

Kim Easterwood

Office Associate II
kaeasterwood@ua.edu
205-348-1455

Dr. Michael Esco

Associate Professor, Exercise Science
mresco@ua.edu
205-348-2151

Dr. Michael Fedewa

Assistant Professor, Exercise Science
mvfedewa@ua.edu
205-348-9779

Dr. Colleen Geary

Clinicial Assistant Professor, Exercise Science
clgeary@ua.edu
205-348-7172

Dr. Brent Hardin

Associate Professor, Adapted Sport Pedagogy
bhardin@ua.edu
205-348-5109

Dr. Hayley MacDonald

Assistant Professor, Exercise Science
hvmacdonald@ua.edu
205-348-2117

Neika Morgan

Clinical Instructor & Exercise Science Advisor
nnmorgan@ua.edu
205-348-7671

Dr. Mark Richardson

Professor, Exercise Science
mtrichar@ua.edu
205-348-9180

Dr. Oleg Sinelnikov

Associate Professor, Sport Pedagogy
osinelnikov@ua.edu
205-348-8363

Dr. Margaret Stran

Clinical Assistant Professor, Adapted Athletics
mstran@ua.edu
205-348-7991

Dr. John Vincent

Professor, Sport Management
vincent@ua.edu
205-348-8369

Dr. Dylan Williams

Assistant Professor, Sport Management
dpwilliams@ua.edu
205-348-3299

Dr. Lee Winchester

Assistant Professor, Exercise Science
ljwinchester@ua.edu
205-348-9522

Dr. Jonathan Wingo

Department Head and Associate  Professor, Exercise Science
jwingo@ua.edu
205-348-4699
website

Dr. Libba Woodruff

Clinical Assistant Professor, Sport Pedagogy
ewoodruff@ua.edu
205-348-7452