The University of Alabama College of Education Homepage

Our mission is to disseminate new knowledge across diverse subdisciplines in Kinesiology while preparing students to address the physical activity needs of our society in school, community, rehabilitative, worksite, health, medical, and sport settings. Consistent with the vision of the University of Alabama, we have a student-centered faculty committed to high quality teaching, research, and service.

We offer undergraduate and graduate degrees in Kinesiology with areas of study focused on Exercise Science, Sport Administration, and Sport Pedagogy/Physical Education. Housed in Moore Hall, our students and faculty utilize multiple state-of-the-art laboratories and workspaces in the pursuit of their personal and professional goals.

Consider Kinesiology at the University of Alabama: a move in the right direction.

The Department of Kinesiology is a member of the American Kinesiology Association.

Department Head:  Dr. Jonathan Wingo

Main Office: 1005 Moore

Degrees

BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN EDUCATION

MASTER OF ARTS

MASTER OF ARTS  (Alternative Route)

The Alternative Master of Arts degree is aimed at students with an undergraduate degree in a non-teaching field who wish to gain an alternative A certificate which enables them to teach in the public schools.

DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY 

People

Dr. Elroy Joseph Aguiar

Assistant Professor, Exercise Science
Phone 205-348-1143
ejaguiar@ua.edu
ejaguiar.people.ua.edu

Dr. Matt Curtner-Smith

Professor, Sport Pedagogy
mdsmith@ua.edu
205-348-9209

Kim Easterwood

Office Associate II
kaeasterwood@ua.edu
205-348-1455

Dr. Michael Esco

Associate Professor, Exercise Science
mresco@ua.edu
205-348-2151

Dr. Michael Fedewa

Assistant Professor, Exercise Science
mvfedewa@ua.edu
205-348-9779
website

Dr. Colleen Geary

Clinicial Assistant Professor, Exercise Science
clgeary@ua.edu
205-348-7172

Christy Gordon

Program Assistant, Kinesiology
gordo016@ua.edu
205-348-6075

Dr. Brent Hardin

Associate Professor, Adapted Sport Pedagogy
bhardin@ua.edu
205-348-5109

Dr. Hayley MacDonald

Assistant Professor, Exercise Science
hvmacdonald@ua.edu
205-348-2117

Neika Morgan

Clinical Instructor & Exercise Science Advisor
nnmorgan@ua.edu
205-348-7671

Dr. Mark Richardson

Professor, Exercise Science
mtrichar@ua.edu
205-348-9180
profile

Dr. Oleg Sinelnikov

Associate Professor, Sport Pedagogy
osinelnikov@ua.edu
205-348-8363

Dr. Margaret Stran

Clinical Assistant Professor, Adapted Athletics
mstran@ua.edu
205-348-7991

Dr. John Vincent

Professor, Sport Management
vincent@ua.edu
205-348-8369

Dr. Dylan Williams

Assistant Professor, Sport Management
dpwilliams@ua.edu
205-348-3299

Dr. Lee Winchester

Assistant Professor, Exercise Science
ljwinchester@ua.edu
205-348-9522
website

Dr. Jonathan Wingo

Department Head and Associate  Professor, Exercise Science
jwingo@ua.edu
205-348-4699
website

Dr. Libba Woodruff

Clinical Assistant Professor, Sport Pedagogy
ewoodruff@ua.edu
205-348-7452