The purpose of the Board of Advisors is to affect a close working relationship between leaders in the community and the faculty, staff, and students in the College of Education and to influence development and advancement activities for the College.  The objectives of the Board of Advisors are to 1) advise the College on long range planning; 2) function as an advocacy group for the University and the College; 3) study needs and opportunities for private funding for the College; 4) assist the College in securing financial resources; 5) assist in the recruitment of outstanding students to the College; and 6) serve on various advisory committees established by the Board at the request.

Current Board

  • Ms. Shelley Jones (Chairperson),
 Tuscaloosa, AL
  • Dr. Mary Jane Caylor, Huntsville, AL
  • Dr. Debbie Ferguson, Madison, AL
  • Dr. Phil Hammonds, Birmingham, AL
  • Ms. Pamela Reed Huggins, Huntsville, AL
  • Dr. Andrain Yeldell Jones, Harvest, AL
  • Ms. Shelley E. Jones
, Tuscaloosa, AL
  • Ms. Marian Loftin
, Dothan, AL
  • Ms. Carol E. Medders, Birmingham, AL
  • Ms. Margaret L. Morton, 
Sylacauga, AL
  • Dr. Bryan Oliver, Montgomery, AL
  • Ms. Margaret O’Neal, Tuscaloosa, AL
  • Dr. W. Ross Palmer, 
Tuscaloosa, AL
  • Dr. Jeremy Pridgeon, Wetumpka, AL
  • Ms. Sandra Hall Ray, Tuscaloosa, AL
  • Ms. Melba Richardson, 
Montgomery, AL
  • The Honorable William A. Ryan, Moundville, AL
  • Ms. Jean Salter
, Huntsville, AL
  • Dr. Karl K. Stegall
, Montgomery, AL
  • Ms. Gloria Myrick Tidwell, 
Mobile, AL
  • Ms. Treobye Britton Utsey, Butler, AL
  • Dr. Mary Ruth Yates, Huntsville, AL