The University of Alabama College of Education Homepage

Secondary Education

Programs in secondary education focus on content areas such as math, science, English, foreign languages, and social science in conjunction with pedagogy with regard to students in sixth – twelfth grades.

Secondary Program Coordinator: Dr. Karen Spector

Degrees

Elementary and Secondary Master’s Comprehensive Exams

Faculty

Dr. Cory Callahan

Associate Professor, Secondary Social Science
cwcallahan@ua.edu
205-348-9272

Dr. Todd Hutner

Assistant Professor, Secondary Science
tlhutner@ua.edu
205-348-9756

Dr. Latrise Johnson

Associate Professor, Secondary English Language Arts
lpjohnson5@ua.edu

Dr. Miguel Mantero

Professor, Educational Linguistics
mmantero@ua.edu
205-348-1402

Dr. Lisa Matherson

Clinical Assistant Professor, Secondary Social Science
lhmatherson@ua.edu
205-348-3125

Dr. Jonathan Shemwell

Associate Professor, Secondary Science Education
jtshemwell@ua.edu
205-348-9258

Dr. Karen Spector

Associate Professor, Secondary English Language Arts
kspector@ua.edu
205-348-5618

Dr. Dennis Sunal

Professor, Science Education
dwsunal@ua.edu
205-348-7010

Dr. Liza Wilson

Professor, Secondary Social Science
ewilson@ua.edu
205-348-6051

Dr. Bedrettin Yazan

Assistant Professor, Secondary Language Acquisition and Teaching
byazan@ua.edu
205-348-8185
website

Dr. Jeremy Zelkowski

Associate Professor, Secondary Mathematics
jzelkowski@ua.edu
205-348-9499
website

Staff

Ms. Becca Langford

Elementary and Secondary Program Assistant
relangford@ua.edu
201 Graves Hall
205-348-1450

Mr. Stephen Smith

C& I Faculty and Grant Support
slsmith13@ua.edu
204 Graves
205-348-6070

Ms. Amanda Wells

Secondary Program Support
ajwells1@ua.edu
204 Graves Hall
205-348-6058