Secondary Education

Programs in secondary education focus on content areas such as math, science, English, foreign languages, and social science in conjunction with pedagogy with regard to students in sixth – twelfth grades.

Secondary Program Coordinator: Dr. Karen Spector

Degrees

Contacts

ProgramProgram CoordinatorsAdvisorsEmails
Secondary EducationDr. Karen Spectorkspector@ua.edu
English for Speakers of Other LanguagesDr. Miguel Manterommantero@ua.edu
English Language ArtsDr. Karen Spector
Dr. Latrise Johnson
kspector@ua.edu
lpjohnson5@ua.edu
Foreign LanguagesDr. Miguel Manterommantero@ua.edu
LiteracyDr. Julianne Coleman
Dr. Christina Brommer
jucoleman@ua.edu
cbvanzandt@ua.edu
MathematicsDr. Jeremy Zelkowskijzelkowski@ua.edu
Science (General Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics)Dr. Jonathan Shemwell
Dr. Shannon Davidson
jtshemwell@ua.edu
sgdavidson1@ua.edu
Social Science (General Social Science, History, Political Science)Dr. Liza Wilson
Dr. Cory Callahan
ewilson@ua.edu
cwcallahan@ua.edu
Overseas Programs (Elementary MA and Secondary MA)Dr. Joy Burnhamjburnham@ua.edu
Doctoral ProgramsDr. Miguel Manterommantero@ua.edu

Elementary and Secondary Master’s Comprehensive Exams and Forms

Faculty

Dr. Cory Callahan

Associate Professor, Secondary Social Science
cwcallahan@ua.edu
205-348-9272

Dr. Shannon Davidson

Assistant Professor, Secondary Science
incoming fall 2022

Dr. Latrise Johnson

Associate Professor, Secondary English Language Arts
lpjohnson5@ua.edu

Dr. Miguel Mantero

Professor, Educational Linguistics
mmantero@ua.edu
205-348-1402

Dr. Lisa Matherson

Clinical Assistant Professor, Secondary Social Science
lhmatherson@ua.edu

Dr. Jonathan Shemwell

Associate Professor, Secondary Science Education
jtshemwell@ua.edu
205-348-9258

Dr. Tori Smith

Assistant Professor, Secondary Social Studies Education
incoming fall 2022

Dr. Karen Spector

Associate Professor, Secondary English Language Arts
kspector@ua.edu

Dr. Casedy Thomas


Assistant Professor, Secondary Math Education
cathomas14@ua.edu

Dr. Liza Wilson

Professor, Secondary Social Science
ewilson@ua.edu

Dr. Jeremy Zelkowski

Associate Professor, Secondary Mathematics
jzelkowski@ua.edu
205-348-9499
website

Staff

Ms. Becca Langford

Elementary and Secondary Program Assistant
relangford@ua.edu
205-348-1450

Hailey Ray

Office Associate II, Secondary Programs
hnpatton@ua.edu

Mr. Stephen Smith

C& I Faculty and Grant Support
slsmith13@ua.edu
205-348-6070