Secondary Education

Programs in secondary education focus on content areas such as math, science, English, foreign languages, and social science in conjunction with pedagogy with regard to students in sixth – twelfth grades.

Secondary Program Coordinator: Dr. Karen Spector

Degrees

Elementary and Secondary Master’s Comprehensive Exams

Faculty



Dr. Justin Boyle


Assistant Professor, Secondary Mathematics
justinb@ua.edu
205-348-3474



Dr. Cory Callahan


Associate Professor, Secondary Social Science
cwcallahan@ua.edu
205-348-9272



Dr. Lauren Colley


Assistant Professor, Secondary Social Science
lmcolley@ua.edu
205-348-8083



Dr. Todd Hutner


Assistant Professor, Secondary Science
tlhutner@ua.edu
205-348-9756




Dr. Latrise Johnson


Associate Professor, Secondary English Language Arts
lpjohnson5@ua.edu



Dr. Miguel Mantero


Professor, Educational Linguistics
mmantero@ua.edu
205-348-1402



Dr. Lisa Matherson


Clinical Assistant Professor, Secondary Social Science
lhmatherson@ua.edu
205-348-3125



Dr. Jonathan Shemwell


Associate Professor, Secondary Science Education
jtshemwell@ua.edu
205-348-9258




Dr. Karen Spector


Associate Professor, Secondary English Language Arts
kspector@ua.edu
205-348-5618



Dr. Dennis Sunal


Professor, Science Education
dwsunal@ua.edu
205-348-7010



Dr. Liza Wilson


Professor, Secondary Social Science
ewilson@ua.edu
205-348-6051



Dr. Bedrettin Yazan


Assistant Professor, Secondary Language Acquisition and Teaching
byazan@ua.edu
205-348-8185
website




Dr. Jeremy Zelkowski


Associate Professor, Secondary Mathematics
jzelkowski@ua.edu
205-348-9499
website


Staff



Ms. Becca Langford


Elementary and Secondary Program Assistant
relangford@ua.edu
201 Graves Hall
205-348-1450



Mr. Stephen Smith


C& I Faculty and Grant Support
slsmith13@ua.edu
204 Graves
205-348-6070



Ms. Amanda Wells


Secondary Program Support
ajwells1@ua.edu
204 Graves Hall
205-348-6058