Overview

The School Psychology Program at the University of Alabama provides exemplary graduate training in research and practice related to the learning, development, and mental health of children and youth. The program is committed to preparing graduate students in the provision of effective school psychology services for children with diverse backgrounds and experiences and recognizes the important contributions of both families and schools in the lives of children. The School Psychology Program trains its graduate students in a “family-school collaboration” approach for at-risk learners and focuses on comprehensive early intervention and prevention in economically disadvantaged and/or rural settings. By preparing graduate students to follow databased decision-making and research in their careers, graduates are equipped to pursue and excel in professional practice and research. The campus Ed.S. and Ph.D. programs are approved by the National Association of the School Psychologists (NASP).

In addition to the campus program, a distance learning program is offered through the College of Continuing Studies and combines online and intensive on-campus experiences for the MA and EdS degrees (not doctoral degrees).  Please note that, unlike the campus program, the distance learning program DOES NOT hold NASP approval.  In addition, unlike the campus program, the distance learning program is open ONLY to those applicants who already hold a valid educator certificate from a state department of education. Information about the distance learning program is provided at http://bamabydistance.ua.edu/degrees/eds-in-ed-psych-school-psychology/.

Program Coordinator:  Dr. Aaron Kuntz

Programs

Faculty

Dr. Melinda Adkins

Clinical Assistant Professor, School Psychology
mjadkins@ua.edu
205-348-7583

Dr. Bradley Bloomfield

Assistant Professor, School Psychology
bsbloomfield@ua.edu

Behavior Intervention
Teleconsultation
Single-case research

Dr. Heather Britnell

Clinical Assistant Professor, School Psychology
hbritnell@ua.edu
205-348-5289

Dr. Daniel Cohen

Assistant Professor, School Psychology
drcohen1@ua.edu

School Mental Health
Educational Equity
Behavioral Assessment


Dr. June Preast

Assistant Professor, School Psychology
jlpreast@ua.edu

Consultation in Schools
Responsiveness to Intervention
Multi-tiered Systems of Support


Staff

Suzanne Gibson

Faculty Support
swgibson3@ua.edu
306D Carmichael
205-348-5174

Michelle Harris

Student Support
mlharris11@ua.edu
306 Carmichael
205-348-1191