Overview

The Educational Psychology Program is designed to provide exemplary graduate training in research, application, and practice related to learning, development, and mental health of people of all ages.

Degree programs in educational psychology focus on theory and research related to learners, learning and developmental processes, teaching, and application of these to educational practice. Students participate in courses, seminars, and field experiences in learning, instruction, cognition, human development, motivational factors, social and cultural bases of behavior, biological factors, educational research, educational foundations, and other areas. Students are required to participate in extensive field-based and research experiences.

Program Coordinator:  Dr. Steve Thoma

Programs

Faculty

Dr. Anthony Derriso

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology
acderriso@ua.edu
309 Carmichael
205-348-1183

Dr. Hyemin Han

Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology/Neuroscience
hyemin.han@ua.edu
205-348-0746

Educational Neuroscience
Positive Psychology
Moral Psychology

Dr. Corrie Harris

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology
corrie.m.harris@ua.edu
323A Graves
205-348-7836

Dr. Laura Morett

Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology/Neuroscience
lmorett@ua.edu
205-348-8489

Educational neuroscience
Gesture studies
Language learning/processing

Dr. Firat Soylu

Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology/Neuroscience
fsoylu@ua.edu

Numerical Cognition
Cognitive/Educational Neuroscience
STEM Learning

Dr. Stephen Thoma

Professor, Educational Psychology/Neuroscience
sthoma@ua.edu
205-348-8146

Dr. David Ian Walker

Associate Professor, Educational Psychology
diwalker@ua.edu

Moral/Character Development
Interdisciplinary Research
Military/Ex-Military Populations

Staff

Suzanne Gibson

Faculty Support
swgibson3@ua.edu
306D Carmichael
205-348-5174

Michelle Harris

Student Support
mlharris11@ua.edu
306 Carmichael
205-348-1191

Darlene Hicks

BCE/BEP Support
dcapps@ua.edu
315 Graves
205-348-8362