Admission test scores (GRE or MAT) have been waived for fall 2021 to best accommodate applicants in response to COVID19.

Overview

The programs in Educational Leadership prepare candidates for careers in educational leadership, research, policy analysis, and the professoriate. The programs emphasize the application of theory and research to the practice of leadership in P-12 schools. They foster high quality independent and critical inquiry into educational ideas and issues and provide candidates with the knowledge, skills, and dispositions needed to function as scholarly, ethical, and reflective decision makers. The programs prepare individuals to lead complex educational organizations in ways that improve schools, foster democratic communities, and promote social justice.

Programs

Contacts

ProgramProgram CoordinatorsAdvisorsEmails
Educational Leadership, MADr. Bill Bergeronwabergeron@ua.edu
Educational Leadership, EDS (Instructional Leader)Dr. Yvette Bynumypbynum@ua.edu
Educational Leadership, EDS (Teacher Leader)Dr. Bill Bergeronwabergeron@ua.edu
Educational Leadership, EDS (School Library Media Specialist)Dr. Steven Yatessteven.d.yates@ua.edu
Educational Leadership, Ed.D. and Ph.D.Dr. Jingping Sunjsun22@ua.edu

Faculty

Dr. Natalie Adams

Professor, Educational Leadership
nadams@ua.edu

Dr. Ammie Akin

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership
awakin@ua.edu

website

Dr. Becky Atkinson

Associate Professor, Educational Leadership
aktin014@ua.edu

Dr. William Bergeron

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Administration
wabergeron@ua.edu

Dr. Yvette Bynum

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Administration
ypbynum@ua.edu

Dr. KC Culver


Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership
kc.culver@ua.edu

Dr. Nirmala Erevelles

Professor, Educational Leadership
nerevelles@ua.edu

Dr. Heewon Jang

Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership
hjang6@ua.edu

Dr. Bob Johnson

Professor, Educational Leadership
bljohnson@ua.edu

Dr. Doug McKnight

Professor, Educational Leadership
dmcknigh@ua.edu

Dr. Brenda Mendiola

Clinical Professor, Educational Administration
bjmendiola@ua.edu

Dr. Roxanne Mitchell

Professor, Educational Administration
rmmitchell@ua.edu

Dr. John Petrovic

Professor, Educational Leadership
jpetrovic@ua.edu

Dr. Jingping Sun

Associate Professor, Educational Leadership
jsun22@ua.edu

Dr. Steven Yates

Affiliate Faculty
Assistant Professor
Assistant Director and Coordinator, School Library Media Certification
steven.d.yates@ua.edu

Staff

Ashaunte Gaillard

Program Coordinator, Superintendents’ Academy and the Center for the Study of Ethical Development
atgaillard@ua.edu