Admission test scores (GRE or MAT) have been waived for fall 2021 to best accommodate applicants in response to COVID19.

Overview

The programs in Educational Leadership prepare candidates for careers in educational leadership, research, policy analysis, and the professoriate. The programs emphasize the application of theory and research to the practice of leadership in P-12 schools. They foster high quality independent and critical inquiry into educational ideas and issues and provide candidates with the knowledge, skills, and dispositions needed to function as scholarly, ethical, and reflective decision makers. The programs prepare individuals to lead complex educational organizations in ways that improve schools, foster democratic communities, and promote social justice.

Programs

Faculty

Dr. Natalie Adams

Professor, Educational Leadership
nadams@ua.edu

Dr. Ammie Akin

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership
awakin@ua.edu

website

Dr. Becky Atkinson

Associate Professor, Educational Leadership
aktin014@ua.edu

Dr. William Bergeron

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Administration
wabergeron@ua.edu

Dr. Yvette Bynum

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Administration
ypbynum@ua.edu

Dr. Nirmala Erevelles

Professor, Educational Leadership
nerevelles@ua.edu

Dr. Heewon Jang

Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership
incoming fall 2022

Dr. Bob Johnson

Professor, Educational Leadership
bljohnson@ua.edu

Dr. Douglas McKnight

Professor, Educational Leadership
dmcknigh@ua.edu

Dr. Brenda Mendiola

Clinical Professor, Educational Administration
bjmendiola@ua.edu

Dr. Roxanne Mitchell

Professor, Educational Administration
rmmitchell@ua.edu

http://rmitchell.people.ua.edu/


Dr. John Petrovic


Professor, Educational Leadership
jpetrovic@ua.edu

jpetrovic.people.ua.edu


Dr. Jing Ping Sun

Associate Professor, Educational Leadership
jsun22@ua.edu
website

Dr. Steven Yates

Affiliate Faculty
Assistant Professor
Assistant Director and Coordinator, School Library Media Certification
steven.d.yates@ua.edu
http://slis.ua.edu

Staff

Ashaunte Gaillard

Program Coordinator, Superintendents’ Academy and the Center for the Study of Ethical Development
atgaillard@ua.edu

Angie Stevens

Program Assistant, ELPTS
astevens@ua.edu