The Department of Special Education and Multiple Abilities (SPEMA) prepares students to serve as reflective decision makers in instructional settings for exceptional learners. The SPEMA faculty believe that a teacher preparation program should emphasize roles and responsibilities that integrate the strengths of learners, parents, general education teachers, special education teachers, related service professionals, and the community. A combination of learning opportunities that include a coordinated knowledge base, diverse school-based practicums, and internship experiences are designed to facilitate the development of logical, critical, and reflective thinking skills. These skills will enable students to synthesize information and conceptualize knowledge that prepare them as future educators to effectively plan, develop, problem solve, and implement programs for diverse learners.

Based on the fundamental belief that success is a function of the interaction between the individual and the environment, the over-arching goal of teacher education programs offered by the Program in Special Education and Multiple Abilities at The University of Alabama is the development, validation, and use of techniques for maximizing students’ (with and without exceptionalities) attainment of their full potential.

Department Head:  Dr. Robin McWilliam

Main Office:  201 Graves


 Collaborative Special Education Early Childhood Special Education Gifted Multiple Abilities Program Severe

Degrees

BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN EDUCATION

MASTER OF ARTS

MASTER OF ARTS (Alternative Route)

The Alternative Master of Arts degree is aimed at students with an undergraduate degree in a non-teaching field who wish to gain an alternative A certificate which enables them to teach in the public schools.

EDUCATIONAL SPECIALIST

DOCTORAL DEGREES

Important Links

People

Dr. Yusuf Akamoglu

Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Special Education
yakamoglu@ua.edu

Dr. Lucy Barnard-Brak

Associate Professor, University Autism Cluster

Dr. Gregory Benner

O’Sullivan Professor of Special Education, Implementation Science
benner@ua.edu

Lisa Burgess

Instructor, MAP
lmburgess1@ua.edu

Dr. Ashley Perry Cawley

Clinical Assistant Professor, Collaborative Special Education
ahperry@ua.edu

Dr. Carol Donovan

Professor, Literacy Education & MAP
cdonovan@ua.edu
205-348-2874

Dr. Pau Garcia-Grau

Post-Doctoral Fellow, Early Childhood Special Education
pgarciagrau@ua.edu
205-348-7788

Dr. Kristine Jolivette

Bryant Professor of Special Education
jolivette@ua.edu
205-348-4305

Dr. Jennifer Jolly

Associate Professor, Gifted and Talented
jljolly1@ua.edu
205-348-6258

Sharron Maughn

Clinical Instructor, MAP
smaughn@ua.edu
205-348-3470

Dr. Sara McDaniel

Associate Professor, Collaborative Special Education
scmcdaniel@ua.edu
205-348-1443
CV

Sylvie McDonald

Instructor & Department Assistant
sylvie.mcdonald@ua.edu
205-348-6093

Dr. Ragan McLeod

Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Special Education
rhmcleod@ua.edu

Dr. Robin McWilliam

Department Head and Professor, Early Childhood Special Education
ramcwilliam@ua.edu
205-348-6527
Vita

Dr. Kagendo Mutua

Professor, Severe and Profound Disabilities
kmutua@ua.edu
205-348-2609

Dr. John Myrick

Clinical Assistant Professor, Collaborative Special Education
myric004@ua.edu
205-348-1441

Dr. Jane Newman

Associate Professor, Gifted and Talented
jnewman2@ua.edu
205-348-1444

Dr. Sara Sanders

Post-Doctoral Fellow
sara.sanders@ua.edu
205-348-4830

Dr. Carol Schlichter

Professor Emerita, MAP
cschlich@ua.edu

Emily Spiller


Faculty Support
erspiller@ua.edu
205-348-1448

Dr. Nicole Swoszowski

Associate Professor, MAP
nswosz@ua.edu

Dr. Laci Watkins

Assistant Professor, Collaborative Special Education
lwatkins2@ua.edu
205-348-6237

Dr. Kathy Wetzel

Clinical Professor, Gifted and Talented
kwetzel@ua.edu