The Department of Special Education and Multiple Abilities (SPEMA) prepares students to serve as reflective decision makers in instructional settings for exceptional learners. The SPEMA faculty believe that a teacher preparation program should emphasize roles and responsibilities that integrate the strengths of learners, parents, general education teachers, special education teachers, related service professionals, and the community. A combination of learning opportunities that include a coordinated knowledge base, diverse school-based practicums, and internship experiences are designed to facilitate the development of logical, critical, and reflective thinking skills. These skills will enable students to synthesize information and conceptualize knowledge that prepare them as future educators to effectively plan, develop, problem solve, and implement programs for diverse learners.

Based on the fundamental belief that success is a function of the interaction between the individual and the environment, the over-arching goal of teacher education programs offered by the Program in Special Education and Multiple Abilities at The University of Alabama is the development, validation, and use of techniques for maximizing students’ (with and without exceptionalities) attainment of their full potential.

Department Head:  Dr. Nicole Swoszowski

Main Office:  201 Autherine Lucy Hall


Autism  Collaborative Special Education Early Childhood Special Education Gifted Multiple Abilities Program Severe

Degrees

BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN EDUCATION

MASTER OF ARTS

MASTER OF ARTS (Alternative Route)

The Alternative Master of Arts degree is aimed at students with an undergraduate degree in a non-teaching field who wish to gain an alternative A certificate which enables them to teach in the public schools.

EDUCATIONAL SPECIALIST

DOCTORAL DEGREES

CERTIFICATES

Important Links

Contacts

ProgramProgram CoordinatorsAdvisorsEmails
AutismDr. Laci Watkinslwatkins2@ua.edu
CollaborativeDr. Nicole Swoszowskinswosz@ua.edu
Collaborative, MASharron Maughnsmaughn@ua.edu
Collaborative, EDSDr. Lucy Barnard-Braklbarnardbrak@ua.edu
Early Childhood Special EducationDr. Ragan McLeodrhmcleod@ua.edu
GiftedDr. Jennifer Jollyjljolly1@ua.edu
Severe DisabilitiesDr. Kagendo Mutuakmutua@ua.edu
Doctoral ProgramsDr. Nicole Swoszowskinswosz@ua.edu

People

Dr. Lucy Barnard-Brak

Professor, Autism
lucy.barnard-brak@ua.edu

Dr. Greg Benner

Helen and Pat O’Sullivan Professor of Special Education, Implementation Science
benner@ua.edu

Lisa Burgess

Instructor, MAP
lmburgess1@ua.edu

Dr. Carol Donovan

Professor, Literacy Education & MAP
cdonovan@ua.edu

Dr. Marissa Filderman

Assistant Professor, Collaborative Special Education
mjfilderman@ua.edu

Dr. Olivia Hester

Clinical Research Assistant Professor
orhester@ua.edu

Dr. Kristine Jolivette

Paul & Mary Harmon Bryant Professor of Special Education
jolivette@ua.edu

Dr. Jennifer Jolly

Professor, Gifted Education
jjolly1@ua.edu

Dr. Kristen Lamb

Assistant Professor, Gifted Education
knlamb@ua.edu

Dr. Erica Ogle Lee

Clinical Research Assistant Professor, Whole Child
eolee1@ua.edu

Sharon Maughn

Instructor, MAP
smaughn@ua.edu

Dr. Sara McDaniel

Professor, Collaborative Special Education
scmdaniel@ua.edu
website

Sylvie McDonald

Instructor, Special Education
semcdonald@ua.edu

Dr. Ragan McLeod

Associate Professor, Early Childhood Education
rhmcleod@ua.edu

Dr. Robin McWilliam

Professor, Early Childhood Special Education
ramcwilliam@ua.edu
website

Dr. Elizabeth Michael

Clinical Assistant Professor, Special Education
elizabeth.michael@ua.edu

Dr. Kagendo Mutua

Professor, Severe and Profound Disabilities
kmutua@ua.edu

Dr. John Myrick

Clinical Assistant Professor, Collaborative Special Education
myric004@ua.edu

Dr. Kimberly Odom

Clinical Assistant Research Professor, SPEMA
kpodom@ua.edu

Dr. Courtney O'Grady

Assistant Professor, Early Childhood & Early Intervention
ceogrady3@ua.edu


Dr. Sara Sanders

Assistant Research Professor, SPEMA
sara.sanders@ua.edu

Dr. Carol Schlichter

Professor Emerita, MAP
cschlich@ua.edu

Dr. Nicole Swoszowski

Department Head and Professor, Multiple Abilities Program
nswosz@ua.edu

Dr. Kimberly Tomeny

Clinical Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Special Education
krtomeny@ua.edu

Dr. Laci Watkins

Assistant Professor, Autism
lwatkins2@ua.edu

Tamela Wilson

Program Assistant, SPEMA
twilson@ua.edu