The Department of Special Education and Multiple Abilities (SPEMA) prepares students to serve as reflective decision makers in instructional settings for exceptional learners. The SPEMA faculty believe that a teacher preparation program should emphasize roles and responsibilities that integrate the strengths of learners, parents, general education teachers, special education teachers, related service professionals, and the community. A combination of learning opportunities that include a coordinated knowledge base, diverse school-based practicums, and internship experiences are designed to facilitate the development of logical, critical, and reflective thinking skills. These skills will enable students to synthesize information and conceptualize knowledge that prepare them as future educators to effectively plan, develop, problem solve, and implement programs for diverse learners.

Based on the fundamental belief that success is a function of the interaction between the individual and the environment, the over-arching goal of teacher education programs offered by the Program in Special Education and Multiple Abilities at The University of Alabama is the development, validation, and use of techniques for maximizing students’ (with and without exceptionalities) attainment of their full potential.

Department Head:  Dr. Nicole Swoszowski

Main Office:  201 Graves


Autism  Collaborative Special Education Early Childhood Special Education Gifted Multiple Abilities Program Severe

Degrees

BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN EDUCATION

MASTER OF ARTS

MASTER OF ARTS (Alternative Route)

The Alternative Master of Arts degree is aimed at students with an undergraduate degree in a non-teaching field who wish to gain an alternative A certificate which enables them to teach in the public schools.

EDUCATIONAL SPECIALIST

DOCTORAL DEGREES

CERTIFICATES

Important Links

People

Dr. Yusuf Akamoglu

yakamoglu@ua.edu

Autism

Dr. Lucy Barnard-Brak

Associate Professor, University Autism Cluster
lucy.barnard-brak@ua.edu

Autism
Statistics

Dr. Gregory Benner

Helen and Pat O’Sullivan Professor of Special Education, Implementation Science
benner@ua.edu

Lisa Burgess

Instructor, MAP
lmburgess1@ua.edu

Dr. Ashley Perry Cawley

Clinical Assistant Professor, Collaborative Special Education
ahcawley@ua.edu

Autism
Special Education Elementary Methodology

Dr. Carol Donovan

Professor, Literacy Education & MAP
cdonovan@ua.edu

Reading and Writing Development
Reading and Writing Instruction
Teacher preparation for teaching reading and writing

Dr. Marissa Filderman

Assistant Professor, Collaborative Special Education
mjfilderman@ua.edu

Dr. Kristine Jolivette

Paul & Mary Harmon Bryant Professor of Special Education
jolivette@ua.edu

Dr. Jennifer Jolly

Professor, Gifted Education

jljolly1@ua.edu

Gifted Education
Homeschooling Gifted Children

Dr. Kristen Lamb

Assistant Professor, Gifted Education
knlamb@ua.edu

Sharron Maughn

Clinical Instructor, MAP
smaughn@ua.edu

Dr. Sara McDaniel

Professor, Collaborative Special Education
scmcdaniel@ua.edu

Behavior Intervention
Discipline

website

Dr. Ragan McLeod

Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Special Education
rhmcleod@ua.edu

Dr. Robin McWilliam

Professor, Early Childhood Special Education
ramcwilliam@ua.edu

website

Dr. Kagendo Mutua

Professor, Severe and Profound Disabilities
kmutua@ua.edu

Dr. John Myrick

Clinical Assistant Professor, Collaborative Special Education
myric004@ua.edu

Dr. Sara Sanders

Clinical Research Assistant Professor, SPEMA
sara.sanders@ua.edu

Dr. Nicole Swoszowski

Department Head & Associate Professor, MAP
nswosz@ua.edu

Dr. Kimberly Tomeny

Clinical Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Special Education
krtomeny@crimson.ua.edu

Dr. Laci Watkins

Assistant Professor, Autism and Collaborative Special Education
lwatkins2@ua.edu

Autism

Dr. Kathy Wetzel

Clinical Professor, Gifted and Talented
kwetzel@ua.edu

Cadriene I. Whiting

SPEMA Office Associate II
ciwhiting@ua.edu

Tamela Wilson

SPEMA Program Assistant
twilson@ua.edu