Bringing music into school-aged people’s lives is an exciting and rewarding profession.  The thorough music training offered by the School of Music, the mastery of skills required in music education courses, and the chance to participate in the finest ensembles in the region are opportunities which set the UA music education programs apart from all others.  Graduates of the UA programs are leaders in the profession throughout their careers.

At the bachelor’s level, students may choose an instrumental track, which prepares them to teach middle or high school band or orchestra, as well as elementary general music or they may choose a choral track, which emphasizes middle or high school choral teaching, in addition to elementary general music.  Graduate work develops research skills, as well as the acquisition of advanced teaching and conducting techniques.

The uniquely high quality preparation at all levels which have characterized the UA Music Education programs for decades have set the standard in Alabama.  The faculty welcomes the chance to discuss what our programs have to offer with all prospective students and their families.

Department Head and Program Coordinator:  Dr. Marvin Latimer

Main Office: 261 Moody Music

Degrees

BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN EDUCATION

MASTER OF ARTS IN SECONDARY EDUCATION

MASTER OF ARTS IN SECONDARY EDUCATION  (Alternative Route)

The Alternative Master of Arts degree is aimed at students with an undergraduate degree in a non-teaching field who wish to gain an alternative A certificate which enables them to teach in the public schools.

EDUCATIONAL SPECIALIST IN SECONDARY EDUCATION

DOCTORAL DEGREES

People

Dr. Julie Bannerman

Visiting Assistant Professor
julie.bannerman@ua.edu
205-348-1344
profile

Randall Coleman

Associate Professor
rocoleman@ua.edu
205-348-0314
profile

Dr. Carl Hancock

Professor
chancock@ua.edu
205-348-6335
profile

Dr. Marian Latimer

Adjunct Instructor
205-348-6054
profile

Dr. Marvin Latimer

Associate Professor
melatimerjr@ua.edu
205-348-0393
profile

Dr. Andrew Minear

Assistant Professor & Director of Choral Activities
atminear@ua.edu
205-348-0178
website

Dr. Kenneth McGuire

Associate Professor
kmcquire@ua.edu
205-348-6054
profile

Dr. Khristi Motley

Adjunct Instructor
sprui005@ua.edu

 

Dr. Kenneth Ozzello

Professor
kozzello@ua.edu
205-348-8242
profile

Judy Ransom

Adjunct Instructor

Jessica Westbrook

MUE Program Support
jwestbrook@ua.edu
205-348-6054

Dr. Anne Witt

Instructor
acwitt@ua.edu
205-348-1460
profile