The mission of the Department of Educational Leadership, Policy and Technology Studies is to prepare ethical and reflective practitioners, researchers, and scholars for work in K-12, higher education, and other educational settings. Through teaching and outreach the Department strives to promote the values, knowledge, and skills needed to improve education in the state and across the region; and through the scholarly activities of its faculty and students, contribute to national research. Leadership, in all areas, requires an understanding of curricular, instructional, supervisory, and administrative processes–as well as an awareness of the ever-changing social, philosophical, historical, political, cultural, legal, moral, and economic contexts of education. Programs offered through the Department meet this challenge by focusing on knowledge construction, learning, and pedagogy, and the development of professional practice that respects diversity, honors difference, and promotes social justice. The Department also maintains an on-going, open dialogue about school improvement through its association with various federal, state, and local educational agencies and professional organizations. The Department of Educational Leadership, Policy, and Technology Studies is a full member of the University Council for Educational Administration.

Department Head:  Dr. Frankie Santos Laanan

Main Office:  301 Graves


Educational Leadership Higher Education Administration Instructional Technology Nurse Educator Social and Cultural Studies

Degrees

MASTER OF ARTS

EDUCATIONAL SPECIALIST

DOCTOR OF EDUCATION

DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY

CERTIFICATES

People

Dr. Natalie Adams

Professor, Educational Leadership
nadams@ua.edu

feminist postructuralism
girl studies
curriculum theory
desgregation

Dr. Ammie Akin

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership
awakin@ua.ed

Dr. Becky Atkinson

Associate Professor, Educational Leadership
aktin014@ua.edu

pragmatism
teacher knowledge

Laura Ballard

BEF, NE, INTE Program Support
lballard@ua.edu

Dr. Angela Benson

Professor, Instructional Technology
abenson@ua.edu

website

Dr. William Bergeron

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership
wabergeron@ua.edu

Dr. Nathaniel Bray

Professor, Higher Education
nbray@ua.edu

Dr. Arleene Breaux

Clinical Associate Professor, Higher Education
apbreaux@ua.edu

 

Dr. Yvette Bynum

Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Administration
ypbynum@ua.edu

leadership development in schools
mentoring

Shannon Cason

Coordinator, Student Recruitment, Nurse Educator Program
secason@ua.edu

Dr. Andre Denham

Associate Professor, Instructional Technology
adenham@ua.edu
205-348-1731

higher education
policy
governance

Dr. Nirmala Erevelles

Professor, Educational Leadership and Foundations of Education
nerevell@ua.edu

critical race theory
disabilities studies
post-colonial theory

Ashaunte T. Gaillard, MA


Program Coordinator, Superintendents’ Academy and the Center for the Study of Ethical Development
atgaillard@ua.edu

Dr. Donald L. Gilstrap

Dean, University Libraries
Professor, Higher Education Administration
dlgilstrap@bama.ua.edu

Dr. James Hardin

Clinical Assistant Professor, Instructional Technology
jhardin@ua.edu

Dr. Karri Holley

Professor, Higher Education Administration
kaholley@ua.edu

graduate education
interdisciplinarity
organizational change in higher education


 

Dr. Bob Johnson

Professor, Educational Leadership
bob.johnson@ua.edu

Dr. Stephen Katsinas

Professor, Higher Education
katsinas@ua.edu

Dr. Frankie Santos Laanan


Department Head and Professor, Higher Education
laanan@ua.edu

laanan.people.ua.edu

Dr. Feiya Luo

Assistant Professor, Instructional Technology
fluo2@ua.edu


Dr. Claire Major

Professor, Higher Education
cmajor@ua.edu

Dr. Doug McKnight

Professor
dmcknigh@ua.edu

curriculum theory
existentialism
policy studies

Sheryl McMillan

Program Specialist, Exec EdD
samcmillan2@ua.edu

Dr. Brenda Mendiola

Director, Alabama Superintendents’ Academy and Clinical Professor, Educational Administration
bjmendiola@ua.edu

leadership development in schools
mentoring


 

Dr. Roxanne Mitchell

On leave 2020-2021
Associate Professor, Educational Administration
rmmitchell@ua.edu

Dr. Steve Mobley

Assistant Professor, Higher Education Administration
sdmobley@ua.edu

HBCUs
collegiate experiences of Black/African American queer students

Dr. John Petrovic

Professor, Educational Leadership and Foundations of Education
petrovic@ua.edu

philosophy of education
liberal political theory
language policy
critical pedagogy

Dr. Margaret Rice

Associate Professor, Computer and Applied Technology
mrice@ua.edu

 

Donna Smith

Program Support, Higher Education Doc and Master’s
dbsmith@ua.edu

Dr. Jing Ping Sun

Associate Professor, Educational Leadership
jsun22@ua.edu

Dr. Stephen Tomlinson

Professor, Educational Leadership and Foundations of Education
stomlins@ua.edu

history of education
history of educational psychology
epistemology

Kim West

ELPTS Program Assistant
kewest4@ua.edu

 

Dr. Krystal Williams

Assistant Professor, Higher Education
klwilliams29@ua.edu

education policy
HBCUs
STEM Education

Dr. Vivian Wright

Professor, Instructional Technology
vwright@ua.edu
205-348-1401
website

Dr. Steven Yates

Affiliate Faculty
Assistant Professor
Assistant Director and Coordinator, School Library Media Certification
steven.d.yates@ua.edu
http://slis.ua.edu