The mission of the Department of Educational Leadership, Policy and Technology Studies is to prepare ethical and reflective practitioners, researchers, and scholars for work in K-12, higher education, and other educational settings. Through teaching and outreach the Department strives to promote the values, knowledge, and skills needed to improve education in the state and across the region; and through the scholarly activities of its faculty and students, contribute to national research. Leadership, in all areas, requires an understanding of curricular, instructional, supervisory, and administrative processes–as well as an awareness of the ever-changing social, philosophical, historical, political, cultural, legal, moral, and economic contexts of education. Programs offered through the Department meet this challenge by focusing on knowledge construction, learning, and pedagogy, and the development of professional practice that respects diversity, honors difference, and promotes social justice. The Department also maintains an on-going, open dialogue about school improvement through its association with various federal, state, and local educational agencies and professional organizations. The Department of Educational Leadership, Policy, and Technology Studies is a full member of the University Council for Educational Administration.

Department Head:  Dr. Angela Benson

Main Office:  301 Autherine Lucy Hall


Educational Leadership Higher Education Administration Instructional Technology Nurse Educator Social and Cultural Studies

Degrees

MASTER OF ARTS

EDUCATIONAL SPECIALIST

DOCTOR OF EDUCATION

DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY

CERTIFICATES

People

Dr. Natalie Adams

Professor, Educational Leadership
nadams@ua.edu

feminist postructuralism
girl studies
curriculum theory
desgregation

Dr. Ammie Akin

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership
awakin@ua.edu

Dr. Becky Atkinson

Associate Professor, Social and Cultural Studies
atkin014@ua.edu

pragmatism
teacher knowledge

Laura Ballard

Social and Cultural Studies & Instructional Technology Program Support
lballard@ua.edu

Dr. Angela Benson

Professor, Instructional Technology
abenson@ua.edu

Dr. William Bergeron

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership
wabergeron@ua.edu

Dr. Nathaniel Bray

Professor, Higher Education
nbray@ua.edu

Dr. Arleene Breaux

Clinical Professor, Higher Education
apbreaux@ua.edu

Dr. Yvette Bynum

Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Administration
ypbynum@ua.edu

leadership development in schools
mentoring

Shannon Cason

Coordinator, Student Recruitment, Nurse Educator Program
secason@ua.edu

Dr. KC Culver


Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership
Incoming fall 2022

Dr. Andre Denham


Associate Professor, Instructional Technology
adenham@ua.edu

game-based learning
emerging learning technologies
professional development


Dr. Nirmala Erevelles

Professor, Educational Leadership and Foundations of Education
nerevell@ua.edu
critical race theory
disabilities studies
post-colonial theory


Ashaunte T. Gaillard, MA


Program Coordinator, Superintendents’ Academy and the Center for the Study of Ethical Development
atgaillard@ua.edu

Dr. Donald L. Gilstrap

Dean, University Libraries
Professor, Higher Education Administration
dlgilstrap@bama.ua.edu

Dr. James Hardin


Clinical Associate Professor, Instructional Technology
jhardin@ua.edu


Dr. Karri Holley


Professor, Higher Education Administration
kaholley@ua.edu
graduate education
interdisciplinarity
organizational change in higher education

Dr. Heewon Jang

Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership
Incoming fall 2022

Dr. Bob Johnson

Professor, Educational Leadership
bob.johnson@ua.edu

Dr. Steve Katsinas

Professor, Higher Education
katsinas@ua.edu

Dr. Feiya Luo

Assistant Professor, Instructional Technology
fluo2@ua.edu

Dr. Claire Major

Professor, Higher Education
cmajor@ua.edu

Dr. Doug McKnight

Professor, Educational Leadership & Foundations of Education
dmcknigh@ua.edu

Dr. Laura McNeill

Clinical Assistant Professor, Instructional Technology
jlmcneill@ua.edu

Dr. Brenda Mendiola

Director, Alabama Superintendents Academy & Clinical Professor, Educational Administration
mjmendiola@ua.edu
leadership development
schools
mentoring

Dr. Roxanne Mitchell

Professor, Educational Administration
rmmitchell@ua.edu

Dr. Jewoong Moon

Assistant Professor, Instructional Technology
jmoon19@ua.edu

Dr. John Petrovic

Professor, Educational Leadership and Foundations of Education
petrovic@ua.edu
philosophy of education
liberal political theory
language policy
critical pedagogy

Dr. Margaret Rice

Associate Professor, Computer & Applied Technology
mrice@ua.edu

Amber Skinner


Program Assistant, Education Policy Centerskinn001@ua.edu

Dr. Jingping Sun

Associate Professor, Educational Leadership
jsun22@ua.edu

Angie Stevens

Program Assistant, ELPTS
astevens@ua.edu

Jordan Todd

Program Specialist, HEA Exec Ed.D.
jhtodd@ua.edu

LaTara Turner

Office Associate II
latara.turner@ua.edu

Dr. Steven Yates

Affiliate Faculty/Assistant Professor
Assistant Director and Coordinator, School Library Media Certification
steven.d.yates@ua.edu

Dr. Akeisha Young

Director of Accreditation and Assessment & Clinical Assistant Professor
adyoung2@ua.edu