The University of Alabama College of Education Homepage

The mission of the Department of Educational Leadership, Policy and Technology Studies is to prepare ethical and reflective practitioners, researchers, and scholars for work in K-12, higher education, and other educational settings. Through teaching and outreach the Department strives to promote the values, knowledge, and skills needed to improve education in the state and across the region; and through the scholarly activities of its faculty and students, contribute to national research. Leadership, in all areas, requires an understanding of curricular, instructional, supervisory, and administrative processes–as well as an awareness of the ever-changing social, philosophical, historical, political, cultural, legal, moral, and economic contexts of education. Programs offered through the Department meet this challenge by focusing on knowledge construction, learning, and pedagogy, and the development of professional practice that respects diversity, honors difference, and promotes social justice. The Department also maintains an on-going, open dialogue about school improvement through its association with various federal, state, and local educational agencies and professional organizations. The Department of Educational Leadership, Policy, and Technology Studies is a full member of the University Council for Educational Administration.

Department Head:  Dr. Frankie Santos Laanan

Main Office:  301 Graves


Educational Leadership Higher Education Administration Instructional Technology Nurse Educator Social and Cultural Studies

Degrees

MASTER OF ARTS

EDUCATIONAL SPECIALIST

DOCTOR OF EDUCATION

DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY

CERTIFICATES

People

Dr. Natalie Adams

Professor, Educational Leadership
nadams@ua.edu

feminist postructuralism
girl studies
curriculum theory
desgregation

Dr. Becky Atkinson

Associate Professor, Educational Leadership
aktin014@ua.edu
205-348-0357

pragmatism
teacher knowledge

Laura Ballard

BEF, NE, INTE Program Support
lballard@ua.edu
205-348-1166

Dr. Angela Benson

Professor, Instructional Technology
abenson@ua.edu
205-348-7824
website

Dr. William Bergeron

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership
wabergeron@ua.edu
205-348-3469

Dr. Nathaniel Bray

Professor, Higher Education
nbray@ua.edu
205-348-0572

Dr. Arleene Breaux

Clinical Associate Professor, Higher Education
apbreaux@ua.edu
205-348-0572

Dr. Yvette Bynum

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Administration
ypbynum@ua.edu
205-348-4101

Shannon Cason

Coordinator, Student Recruitment, Nurse Educator Program
secason@ua.edu
205-348-7683

Dr. Andre Denham

Associate Professor, Instructional Technology
adenham@ua.edu
205-348-1731

Higher Education
Policy
Governance

Dr. Nirmala Erevelles

Professor, Educational Leadership and Foundations of Education

Dr. Karri Holley

Professor, Higher Education

Dr. Bob Johnson

Professor, Educational Leadership
bljohnson7@ua.edu

Dr. Stephen Katsinas

Professor, Higher Education

Dr. Cindy Ann Kilgo

Assistant Professor, Higher Education

Dr. Frankie Santos Laanan

Professor, Higher Education

laanan@ua.edu

laanan.people.ua.edu

Dr. Claire Major

Professor, Higher Education

Dr. Bryan Mann

Assistant Professor, Educational Policy
bamann1@ua.edu

Sheryl McMillan

Program Specialist, Exec EdD

Dr. Brenda Mendiola

Director, Alabama Superintendents’ Academy and Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Administration
bjmendiola@ua.edu

Dr. Roxanne Mitchell

Associate Professor, Educational Administration
rmmitchell@ua.edu

Dr. Steve Mobley

Assistant Professor, Higher Education Administration
sdmobley@ua.edu

Dr. John Petrovic

Professor, Educational Leadership and Foundations of Education
petrovic@ua.edu

Dr. Margaret Rice

Associate Professor, Computer and Applied Technology
mrice@ua.edu

Donna Smith

Program Support, Higher Education Doc and Master’s
dbsmith@ua.edu

Dr. Jing Ping Sun

Associate Professor, Educational Leadership
jsun22@ua.edu

Dr. Stephen Tomlinson

Professor, Educational Leadership and Foundations of Education
stomlins@ua.edu

Kim West

Program Assistant, ELPTS
kwest4@ua.edu