The University of Alabama College of Education Homepage

The mission of the Department of Educational Leadership, Policy and Technology Studies is to prepare ethical and reflective practitioners, researchers, and scholars for illiork in K-12, higher education, and other educational settings. Through teaching and outreach the Department strives to promote the values, knowledge, and skills needed to improve education in the state and across the region; and through the scholarly activities of its faculty and students, contribute to national research. Leadership, in all areas, requires an understanding of curricular, instructional, supervisory, and administrative processes–as well as an awareness of the ever-changing social, philosophical, historical, political, cultural, legal, moral, and economic contexts of education. Programs offered through the Department meet this challenge by focusing on knowledge construction, learning, and pedagogy, and the development of professional practice that respects diversity, honors difference, and promotes social justice. The Department also maintains an on-going, open dialogue about school improvement through its association with various federal, state, and local educational agencies and professional organizations. The Department of Educational Leadership, Policy, and Technology Studies is a full member of the University Council for Educational Administration.

Department Head:  Dr. Frankie Santos Laanan

Main Office:  301 Graves


Educational Leadership Higher Education Administration Instructional Technology Nurse Educator Social and Cultural Studies

Degrees

MASTER OF ARTS

EDUCATIONAL SPECIALIST

DOCTOR OF EDUCATION

DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY

CERTIFICATES

People

Dr. Natalie Adams

Professor, Educational Leadership
nadams@ua.edu

Dr. Becky Atkinson

Associate Professor, Educational Leadership
aktin014@ua.edu
205-348-0357

Laura Ballard

BEF, NE, INTE Program Support
lballard@ua.edu
205-348-1166

Dr. Angela Benson

Professor, Instructional Technology
abenson@ua.edu
205-348-7824
website

Dr. Nathaniel Bray

Professor, Higher Education
nbray@ua.edu
205-348-1169

Higher Education
Policy
Governance

Dr. Arleene Breaux

Clinical Associate Professor, Higher Education
apbreaux@ua.edu
205-348-0572

Dr. Yvette Bynum

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Administration
ypbynum@ua.edu
205-348-4101

Dr. Andre Denham

Associate Professor, Instructional Technology
adenham@ua.edu
205-348-1731

Dr. Nirmala Erevelles

Professor, Foundations of Education
nerevelles@ua.edu
205-348-1179

Dr. David Hardy

Associate Professor, Higher Education
dhardy@ua.edu
205-348-6874

Dr. Karri Holley

Professor, Higher Education
kaholley@ua.edu
205-348-7825
website

Graduate and postdoctoral education
Interdisciplinarity
Qualitative inquiry

Dr. Bob Johnson

Professor, Educational Leadership
bljohnson@ua.edu
205-348-6417

Dr. Stephen Katsinas

Professor, Higher Education
katsinas@ua.edu
205-348-6005

Dr. Cindy Ann Kilgo

Assistant Professor, Higher Education
cakilgo@ua.edu
205-348-5391

College impact research
LGBTQ+ collegians’ experiences
Critical quantitative methodologies

Dr. Frankie Santos Laanan

Department Head and Professor, Higher Education
laanan@ua.edu
205-348-5811
website

Dr. Claire Major

Professor, Higher Education
cmajor@ua.edu
205-348-1152

Dr. Bryan Mann

Assistant Professor, Foundations of Education
bamann1@ua.edu
205-348-4733

Dr. Douglas McKnight

Professor, Foundations of Education
dmcknigh@ua.edu
205-348-1449

Dr. Brenda Mendiola

Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Administration
bjmendiola@ua.edu
205-348-1163

Dr. Roxanne Mitchell

Associate Professor, Educational Administration
rmmitchell@ua.edu
205-348-0348

Organizational theory
School culture
International education

Dr. Steve Mobley, Jr.

Assistant Professor, Higher Education
sdmobley@ua.edu
205-348-0542

Dr. John Petrovic

Professor, Foundations of Education
petrovic@ua.edu
348-0465
website

Dr. Margaret Rice

Associate Professor, Instructional Technology
mrice@ua.edu
205-348-1165

Donna Smith

HEA Program Support, MA/Doctoral
dbsmith@ua.edu
205-348-6871

Dr. Jing Ping Sun

Associate Professor, Educational Leadership
jsun22@ua.edu
205-348-6082

Leadership for Learning
School improvement
Meta-Analysis

Dr. Stephen Tomlinson

Professor, Foundations of Education
stomlins@ua.edu
205-348-3071

Kimberly West

Program Assistant, ELPTS
205-348-6997
kewest4@ua.edu 

Vanessa Williams

Program Specialist, Exec EdD
willi077@ua.edu
205-348-3828

Dr. Krystal Williams

Assistant Professor, Higher Education
klwilliams29@ua.edu
205-348-2823

Dr. Vivian Wright

Professor, Instructional Technology
vwright@ua.edu
205-348-1401
website