The mission of the Department of Educational Leadership, Policy and Technology Studies is to prepare ethical and reflective practitioners, researchers, and scholars for work in K-12, higher education, and other educational settings. Through teaching and outreach the Department strives to promote the values, knowledge, and skills needed to improve education in the state and across the region; and through the scholarly activities of its faculty and students, contribute to national research. Leadership, in all areas, requires an understanding of curricular, instructional, supervisory, and administrative processes–as well as an awareness of the ever-changing social, philosophical, historical, political, cultural, legal, moral, and economic contexts of education. Programs offered through the Department meet this challenge by focusing on knowledge construction, learning, and pedagogy, and the development of professional practice that respects diversity, honors difference, and promotes social justice. The Department also maintains an on-going, open dialogue about school improvement through its association with various federal, state, and local educational agencies and professional organizations. The Department of Educational Leadership, Policy, and Technology Studies is a full member of the University Council for Educational Administration.

Department Head:  Dr. Angela Benson

Main Office:  301 Autherine Lucy Hall

Educational Leadership Higher Education Administration Instructional Technology Nurse Educator Social and Cultural Studies








Dr. Natalie Adams

Professor, Educational Leadership

feminist postructuralism
girl studies
curriculum theory

Dr. Becky Atkinson

Associate Professor, Social and Cultural Studies

teacher knowledge

Laura Ballard

Social and Cultural Studies & Instructional Technology Program Support

Dr. Angela Benson

Professor, Instructional Technology

Dr. William Bergeron

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership

Dr. Nathaniel Bray

Professor, Higher Education

Dr. Arleene Breaux

Clinical Professor, Higher Education

Dr. Yvette Bynum

Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Administration

leadership development in schools

Shannon Cason

Coordinator, Student Recruitment, Nurse Educator Program

Dr. KC Culver

Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership

Dr. Andre Denham

Associate Professor, Instructional Technology

game-based learning
emerging learning technologies
professional development

Dr. Nirmala Erevelles

Professor, Educational Leadership and Foundations of Education
critical race theory
disabilities studies
post-colonial theor

Ashaunte T. Gaillard, MA

Program Coordinator, Superintendents’ Academy and the Center for the Study of Ethical Development

Dr. Donald L. Gilstrap

Dean, University Libraries
Professor, Higher Education Administration

Dr. James Hardin

Clinical Associate Professor, Instructional Technology

Dr. Karri Holley

Professor, Higher Education Administration
graduate education
organizational change in higher education

Dr. Heewon Jang

Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership

Dr. Bob Johnson

Professor, Educational Leadership

Dr. Steve Katsinas

Professor, Higher Education

Dr. Feiya Luo

Assistant Professor, Instructional Technology

Dr. Claire Major

Professor, Higher Education

Dr. Doug McKnight

Professor, Educational Leadership & Foundations of Education

Dr. Laura McNeill

Clinical Assistant Professor, Instructional Technology

Dr. Brenda Mendiola

Director, Alabama Superintendents Academy & Clinical Professor, Educational Administration
leadership development

Dr. Roxanne Mitchell

Professor, Educational Administration

Dr. Jewoong Moon

Assistant Professor, Instructional Technology

Stephanie Mosley


Dr. John Petrovic

Professor, Educational Leadership and Foundations of Education
philosophy of education
liberal political theory
language policy
critical pedagogy

Dr. Margaret Rice

Associate Professor, Computer & Applied Technology

Dr. Jingping Sun

Associate Professor, Educational Leadership

Jordan Todd

Program Specialist, HEA Exec Ed.D.

LaTara Turner

Office Associate II

Dr. Steven Yates

Affiliate Faculty/Assistant Professor
Assistant Director and Coordinator, School Library Media Certification

Dr. Akeisha Young

Director of Accreditation and Assessment & Clinical Assistant Professor