The primary mission of the Department of Educational Studies in Psychology, Research Methodology, and Counseling is to offer quality graduate programs to an interdisciplinary array of students.  The Educational Research program develops researchers for the public sector, private sector, and higher education. The Educational Psychology program provides exemplary graduate training in research, application, and practice related to learning, development, and mental well being of people of all ages.  The Program in Counselor Education offers a quality program of teaching, research, and service for students enrolled for study and, ultimately, for the benefit of the publics they serve.  The School Psychology program provides exemplary graduate training in research, application, and practice related to the learning, development, and mental health of children and youth as well as their families, teachers, educators and other professionals who work with them.

The Department of Educational Studies is committed to cultivating a scholarly community that celebrates values of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Guided by these firm commitments, we embrace a holistic perspective of diversity, which includes race; ethnicity and national origin; gender, including gender identity and expressions; sexualities; age, socioeconomic status; disabilities; religion and spirituality; as well as other identities and ideologies. Our department strives to create and actively promote a welcoming and supportive environment where diverse perspectives are encouraged, recognized, and respected.

In response to COVID-19, most admission test scores (GRE/GMAT/MAT MCAT) have been waived for Spring, Summer and Fall 2021.

Department Head:  Dr. Michael Lawson


Counselor Education Educational Psychology/Neuroscience Educational Research School Psychology

Degrees

BACHELOR OF SCIENCE

MASTER OF ARTS

EDUCATIONAL SPECIALIST

DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY

CERTIFICATES

People

Dr. Eric Baltrinic

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education
erbaltrinic@ua.edu

Teaching and Learning
Counselor Preparation
Q Methodology

Dr. Heather Britnell

Clinical Asst. Professor, School Psychology
hbritnell@ua.edu

Dr. Joy Burnham

Professor, Counselor Education
jburnham@ua.edu
205-348-2302
website

Children’s Fears
School Counseling
Women in Academia

Dr. Chunhua Cao

Assistant Professor, Quantitative Methods
ccao6@ua.edu

Dr. Dan Cohen

Assistant Professor, School Psychology
drcohen1@ua.edu

School Mental Health
Educational Equity
Behavioral Assessment

Dr. Ryan Cook

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education
rmcook@ua.edu

Clinical Judgment
Clinical Supervision
Ethical Decision-Making

Dr. Tony Derriso

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology
acderriso@ua.edu

Dr. Heather Fye

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education
hjfye@ua.edu

Wellness, Stress, and Burnout
School Counseling
Quantitative Research

Suzanne Gibson

ESPRMC Faculty Support
swgibson3@ua.edu

Dr. Ann Godfrey

Associate Teaching Professor, Educational Research
agodfrey@ua.edu

Dr. Teresa Grenawalt

Assistant Professor, Rehabilitative Counselor Education
tagrenawalt@ua.edu

Dr. Wenjing Guo

Clinical Assistant Professor, Quantitative Research
wguo9@ua.edu

Dr. Kelly Guyotte

Associate Professor, Qualitative Research
kwguyotte@ua.edu
website

Dr. Karl Hamner

Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Research
khamner@ua.edu

Dr. Hyemin Han

Associate Professor, Educational Neuroscience
hhan19@ua.edu

Michelle Harris

ESPRMC Student Support
mlharris11@ua.edu

Darlene Hicks

BCE/BEP Support
dcapps@ua.edu

Dr. Stacy Hughey-Surman

Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Research
ssurman@ua.edu
classroom assessment
evaluating collective impact
arts evaluation

Dr. Joni Lakin

Associate Professor, Educational Research
jlakin@ua.edu
education measurement
STEM education
intervention

Dr. Michael Lawson

Department Head and
Associate Professor, Educational Research
malawson1@ua.edu
student/family engagement
improvement science
mixed methods research

Dr. Joon Ho Lee

Assistant Professor, Educational Research
jlee296@ua.edu
experimental and intervention research

Dr. Junfei Lu

Associate Professor, Rehabilitation Counseling
jlu27@ua.edu
mindfulness & resilience
counselor competence development
people with disabilities

Dr. Emily Lund

Assistant Professor, Rehabilitation Counseling
emlund@ua.edu

Dr. Wenchao Ma

Assistant Professor, Quantitative Research
wma9@ua.edu
psychometrics
cognitive diagnosis modeling
item response theory

Dr. Kaiwen Man

Assistant Professor, Educational Research
kman@ua.edu
educational measurement

Dr. Laura Morett

Assistant Professor, Educational Neuroscience
lmorett@ua.edu
gesture studies
language learning/processing

Dr. George Mugoya

Associate Professor, Counselor Education
gmugoya@ua.edu
disabilities
chronic illnesses
psychosocial correlates of health

Dr. June Preast

Assistant Professor, School Psychology
jlpreast@ua.edu
school consultation
intervention responsiveness
multi-tiered systems of support

Dr. Shena Sanchez

Assistant Professor, Educational Research
sasanchez1@ua.edu
educational research
student identity and voice
socio-political contexts of education

Dr. Randall Schumacker

Professor, Educational Research
rschumacker@ua.edu
multiple regression
multivariate statistics
structural equation modeling

Dr. Stephanie Anne Shelton

Associate Professor, Educational Research
sashelton@ua.edu
qualitative
interviewing
focus groups
gender & sexuality
queer & feminist theories

Dr. Firat Soylu

Associate Professor, Educational Neuroscience
fsoylu@ua.edu
numerical cognition
STEM learning

Dr. Macarena Suárez Pellicioni

Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology and Neuroscience
mspellicioni@ua.edu

Dr. Michael Lee Sulkowski

Associate Professor, School Psychology
mlsulkowski@ua.edu

Dr. David Ian Walker

Associate Professor, Educational Psychology
diwalker@ua.edu
moral & character development
interdisciplinary research
military/ex-military populations

Dr. Yurou Wang

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology
yurou.wang@ua.edu
motivation
learning
persistence
emotion

Dr. Stefanie Wind

Associate Professor, Measurement and Evaluation
swind@ua.edu
rater-mediated assessment
item response theory
nonparametric IRT