The primary mission of the Department of Educational Studies in Psychology, Research Methodology, and Counseling is to offer quality graduate programs to an interdisciplinary array of students.  The Educational Research program develops researchers for the public sector, private sector, and higher education. The Educational Psychology program provides exemplary graduate training in research, application, and practice related to learning, development, and mental well being of people of all ages.  The Program in Counselor Education offers a quality program of teaching, research, and service for students enrolled for study and, ultimately, for the benefit of the publics they serve.  The School Psychology program provides exemplary graduate training in research, application, and practice related to the learning, development, and mental health of children and youth as well as their families, teachers, educators and other professionals who work with them.

Department Head:  Dr. Aaron Kuntz


Counselor Education Educational Psychology/Neuroscience Educational Research School Psychology

Degrees

MASTER OF ARTS

EDUCATIONAL SPECIALIST

DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY

CERTIFICATES

People

Dr. Melinda Adkins

Clinical Asst. Professor, School Psychology
mjadkins@ua.edu

Dr. Eric Baltrinic

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education

Dr. Bradley Bloomfield

Assistant Professor, School Psychology

Dr. Heather Britnell

Clinical Asst. Professor, School Psychology
hbritnell@ua.edu

Dr. Joy Burnham

Professor, Counselor Education
jburnham@ua.edu
205-348-2302
website

Dr. Youn-Jeng Choi

Assistant Professor, Measurement and Evaluation
ychoi26@ua.edu
205-348-6600
website

Dr. Daniel Cohen

Assistant Professor, School Psychology

Dr. Ryan Cook

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education
rmcook@ua.edu
205-348-0572

Dr. Anthony Derriso

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology
acderriso@ua.edu
205-348-1183

Dr. Heather Fye

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education

Suzanne Gibson

ESPRMC Faculty Support
swgibson3@ua.edu
348-5174

Dr. Judy Giesen

Clinical Professor, Educational Research
jgiesen@ua.edu
205-348-4081

Dr. Ann Godfrey

Associate Teaching Professor, Educational Research
agodfrey@ua.edu
205-348-7582

Dr. Kelly Guyotte

Assistant Professor, Qualitative Research
kwguyotte@ua.edu
205-348-6878
website

Dr. Hyemin Han

Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology/Neuroscience
hhan19@ua.edu
205-348-0746

Michelle Harris

ESPRMC Student Support
mlharris11@ua.edu
205-348-1191

Dr. Stacy Hughey-Surman

Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Research
ssurman@ua.edu
348-7729

Dr. Aaron Kuntz

Department Head & Professor, Educational Research
amkuntz@ua.edu
205-348-5675
website

Dr. Michael Lawson

Associate Professor, Educational Research
malawson1@ua.edu
205-348-4807

Dr. Wei Li

Assistant Professor, Quantitative Research
wli59@ua.edu
348-8087

Dr. Junfei Lu

Assistant Professor, Rehabilitation Counseling
jlu27@ua.edu
348-9243

Dr. Wenchao Ma

Assistant Professor, Quantitative Research
wma9@ua.edu
205-348-9229
website

Dr. Jamie Mills

Associate Professor, Educational Research
jmills@ua.edu
205-348-4227

Dr. Laura Morett

Assistant Professor, Neuroscience/Educational Psychology
lmorett@ua.edu
348-8489

Dr. George Mugoya

Associate Professor, Counselor Education
gmugoya@ua.edu
348-1346

Dr. June Preast

Assistant Professor, School Psychology
jlpreast@ua.edu

Dr. Randall Schumacker

Professor, Educational Research
rschumacker@ua.edu
205-348-6062
website

Dr. Stephanie Ann Shelton

Assistant Professor, Educational Research
sashelton@ua.edu
348-0885
website

Dr. Firat Soylu

Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology/Neuroscience
fsoylu@ua.edu
348-6267

Dr. Stephen Thoma

Professor, Educational Psychology
sthoma@ua.edu
348-8146

Dr. Sara Tomek

Associate Professor, Educational Research
stomek@ua.edu
205-348-5736

Dr. Doris Vaughans

Clinical Assistant Professor, Counselor Education
dcvaughans@ua.edu
348-7583

Dr. David Ian Walker

Associate Professor, Educational Psychology
diwalker@ua.edu

Dr. Stefanie Wind

Assistant Professor, Measurement and Evaluation
swind@ua.edu
348-9772