The primary mission of the Department of Educational Studies in Psychology, Research Methodology, and Counseling is to offer quality graduate programs to an interdisciplinary array of students.  The Educational Research program develops researchers for the public sector, private sector, and higher education. The Educational Psychology program provides exemplary graduate training in research, application, and practice related to learning, development, and mental well being of people of all ages.  The Program in Counselor Education offers a quality program of teaching, research, and service for students enrolled for study and, ultimately, for the benefit of the publics they serve.  The School Psychology program provides exemplary graduate training in research, application, and practice related to the learning, development, and mental health of children and youth as well as their families, teachers, educators and other professionals who work with them.

The Department of Educational Studies is committed to cultivating a scholarly community that celebrates values of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Guided by these firm commitments, we embrace a holistic perspective of diversity, which includes race; ethnicity and national origin; gender, including gender identity and expressions; sexualities; age, socioeconomic status; disabilities; religion and spirituality; as well as other identities and ideologies. Our department strives to create and actively promote a welcoming and supportive environment where diverse perspectives are encouraged, recognized, and respected.

In response to COVID-19, most admission test scores (GRE/GMAT/MAT MCAT) have been waived for Spring, Summer and Fall 2021.

Department Head:  Dr. Michael Lawson


Counselor Education Educational Psychology/Neuroscience Educational Research School Psychology

Degrees

BACHELOR OF SCIENCE

MASTER OF ARTS

EDUCATIONAL SPECIALIST

DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY

CERTIFICATES

People

Dr. Eric Baltrinic

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education
erbaltrinic@ua.edu

Teaching and Learning
Counselor Preparation
Q Methodology

Dr. Heather Britnell

Clinical Asst. Professor, School Psychology
hbritnell@ua.edu

Dr. Joy Burnham

Professor, Counselor Education
jburnham@ua.edu
205-348-2302
website

Children’s Fears
School Counseling
Women in Academia

Dr. Youn-Jeng Choi

Assistant Professor, Measurement and Evaluation
ychoi26@ua.edu

website

Item Response Theory
Scale Development
Psychometrics and Statistics

Dr. Daniel Cohen

Assistant Professor, School Psychology
drcohen1@ua.edu

School Mental Health
Educational Equity
Behavioral Assessment

Dr. Ryan Cook

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education
rmcook@ua.edu

Clinical Judgment
Clinical Supervision
Ethical Decision-Making

Dr. Tony Derriso

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology

Dr. Heather Fye

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education
hjfye@ua.edu

Wellness, Stress, and Burnout
School Counseling
Quantitative Research

Suzanne Gibson

ESPRMC Faculty Support
swgibson3@ua.edu

Dr. Judy Giesen

Clinical Professor, Educational Research
jgiesen@ua.edu

Dr. Ann Godfrey

Associate Teaching Professor, Educational Research
agodfrey@ua.edu

Dr. Teresa Grenawalt

Assistant Professor, Rehabilitation Counseling
tagrenawalt@ua.edu

Dr. Kelly Guyotte

Associate Professor, Qualitative Research
kwguyotte@ua.edu

website

Dr. Karl Hamner

Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Research
khamner@ua.edu

Dr. Hyemin Han

Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology/Neuroscience
hhan19@ua.edu

Michelle Harris

ESPRMC Student Support
mlharris11@ua.edu

Darlene Hicks

BCE/BEP Support
dcapps@ua.edu

Dr. Stacy Hughey-Surman

Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Research
ssurman@ua.edu

Classroom Assessment
Evaluating Collective Impact
Arts Evaluation

Dr. Joni Lakin

Associate Professor, Educational Research
jlakin@ua.edu

Educational Measurement
STEM Education & Interventions

Dr. Michael Lawson

Department Head & Associate Professor, Educational Research
malawson1@ua.edu

Student/Family Engagement
Improvement Science
Mixed Methods Research

Dr. Joon-Ho Lee

Assistant Professor, Educational Research
jlee296@ua.edu

Experimental & Intervention Research

Dr. Junfei Lu

Associate Professor, Rehabilitation Counseling
jlu27@ua.edu

Mindfulness & Resilience
Counselor Competence Development
People with Disabilities

Dr. Emily Lund

Assistant Professor, Rehabilitation Counseling
emlund@ua.edu

Dr. Wenchao Ma

Assistant Professor, Quantitative Research
wma9@ua.edu

Psychometrics
Cognitive Diagnosis Modeling
Item Response Theory

website

Dr. Kaiwen Man

Assistant Professor, Educational Research
kman@ua.edu

Educational Measurement
Quantitative Studies

Dr. Laura Morett

Assistant Professor, Neuroscience/Educational Psychology
lmorett@ua.edu

Educational Neuroscience
Gesture Studies
Language Learning/Processing

Dr. George Mugoya

Associate Professor, Counselor Education
gmugoya@ua.edu

Disabilities and Chronic Illnesses
Psychosocial Correlates of Health
Statistical Design and Analysis

Dr. June Preast

Assistant Professor, School Psychology
jlpreast@ua.edu

Consultation in Schools
Responsiveness to Intervention
Multi-tiered Systems of Support

Dr. Randall Schumacker

Professor, Educational Research
rschumacker@ua.edu

Multiple Regression
Multivariate Statistics
Structural Equation Modeling

website

Dr. Stephanie Anne Shelton

Assistant Professor, Educational Research
sashelton@ua.edu

Qualitative Interviewing/Focus Groups
Genders and Sexualities in Education
Queer and Feminist Theories

website

Dr. Firat Soylu

Associate Professor, Educational Psychology/Neuroscience
fsoylu@ua.edu

Numerical Cognition
Cognitive/Educational Neuroscience
STEM Learning

website

Dr. Macarena Suárez Pellicioni

Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology/Neuroscience
mspellicioni@ua.edu

Dr. David Ian Walker

Associate Professor, Educational Psychology
diwalker@ua.edu

Moral/Character Development
Interdisciplinary Research
Military/Ex-Military Populations

website

Dr. Yurou Wang

Clinical Assistant Professor, Educational Psychology
yurou.wang@ua.edu

Motivation
Learning Persistence
Emotion

website

Dr. Stefanie Wind

Associate Professor, Measurement and Evaluation
swind@ua.edu

Rater-mediated Assessment
Item Response Theory
Nonparametric IRT