The Department of Curriculum and Instruction prepares prospective teachers committed to ethical instruction and disciplinary expertise who advance the intellectual and social conditions of all learners and prepares researchers and educational leaders for careers in university settings and in any number of government and precollege school settings.  The Department of Curriculum and Instruction is comprised of programs in early childhood/elementary education and secondary curriculum, teaching, and learning.  Degrees are listed and certifications that can be obtained are listed below each degree.

Department Head:  Dr. Cynthia Sunal

Main Office:  201 Graves


Elementary Education Secondary Education

Degrees

BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN EDUCATION

  • Elementary Education
    • Elementary Education and Early Education (K-6 and PreK-3)
  • Secondary Education
    • English Language Arts (6-12); Foreign Language (French, German, Latin, or Spanish) (6-12 or P-12); General Social Science (6-12); Mathematics (6-12); Science

MASTER OF ARTS

  • Elementary Education
    • Elementary Education (K-6)
  • Secondary Education
    • Biology (6-12); Chemistry (6-12); English Language Arts (6-12); English as a Second Language (P-12); Foreign Language (French, German, Latin, or Spanish) (6-12 or P-12); Geography (6-12); General Social Science (6-12); Mathematics (6-12); Reading (P-12)

MASTER OF ARTS (Alternative Route)

The Alternative Master of Arts degree is aimed at students with an undergraduate degree in a non-teaching field who wish to gain an alternative A certificate which enables them to teach in the public schools.

  • Elementary and Early Childhood Education
    • Elementary Education and Early Education (K-6 and PreK-3)
  • Secondary Education
    • Biology (6-12); Chemistry (6-12); English For Speakers of Other Languages (P-12); Foreign Language (French, German, Latin, or Spanish) (6-12 or P-12); Geography (6-12) ;General Social Science (6-12); General Science; General Social Science Geography; Mathematics (6-12); Physics; Physics and Mathematics (6-12)

EDUCATIONAL SPECIALIST

  • Elementary Education
    • Elementary Education (K-6)
  • Secondary Education
    • Biology (6-12); Chemistry (6-12) ;English For Speakers of Other Languages (P-12); English Language Arts (6-12); Geography (6-12) ;History (6-12); Mathematics (6-12)

DOCTORAL DEGREES

People

Dr. Justin Boyle

Assistant Professor, Secondary Mathematics
justinb@ua.edu
205-348-3474

Dr. Tammy Brown

Clinical Associate Professor, C&I
tammy.c.brown@ua.edu
205-348-5089

Dr. Cory Callahan

Associate Professor, Secondary Social Science
cwcallahan@ua.edu
205-348-9272

Dr. Julianne Coleman

Associate Professor, Elementary Literacy Education
jucoleman@ua.edu
205-348-3248

Dr. Lauren Colley

Assistant Professor, Secondary Social Science
lmcolley@ua.edu
205-348-8083

Dr. Melisa Fowler

Clinical Associate Professor, Elementary Education Education
mfowler@ua.edu
205-348-7239

Rosetta Hawkins

Elementary Program Support
rhhawkins@ua.edu
205-348-6092

Dr. Tracey Hodges

Assistant Professor, Literacy Education
thodges@ua.edu
205-348-6180
website

Dr. Alison Hooper

Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Education
alhooper2@ua.edu
205-348-0303

Dr. Janie Hubbard

Associate Professor, Elementary Social Studies
hubba018@ua.edu
205-348-4327

Dr. Tod Hutner

Assistant Professor, Secondary Science
tlhutner@ua.edu

Dr. Latrise Johnson

Associate Professor, Secondary English Language Arts
lpjohnson5@ua.edu

Dr. Cailin Kerch

Clinical Assistant Professor

Becca Langford

Program Assistant, C&I
relangford@ua.edu
201 Graves Hall
205-348-1450

Dr. Miguel Mantero

Professor, Educational Linguistics
mmantero@ua.edu
205-348-1402

Dr. Lisa Matherson

Assistant Professor, Secondary Social Science
lmatherson@ua.edu
205-348-3125

Dr. Stephanie Saclarides

Assistant Professor, Elementary Mathematics Education
essaclarides@ua.edu

Dr. Jonathan Shemwell

Associate Professor, Secondary Science Education
jtshemwell@ua.edu
205-348-9258

Dr. Marsha Simon

Post-Doc Fellow

Stephen Smith

C&I Grant Support
slsmith13@ua.edu
204 Graves
205-348-6070

Dr. Karen Spector

Associate Professor, Secondary English Language Arts
kspector@ua.edu
205-348-5618

Dr. Jee Kyung Suh

Assistant Professor, Science Education
jksuh@ua.edu
205-348-5246

Dr. Cynthia Sunal

Department Head and Professor, Social Studies & Elementary Education
cvsunal@ua.edu
205-348-5920

Dr. Dennis Sunal

Professor, Science Education
dwsunal@ua.edu
205-348-7010

Dr. Holly Hilboldt Swain

Clinical Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Education & Literacy
hhswain@ua.edu
205-348-1445

Amanda Wells

C&I Faculty Support
ajwells1@ua.edu
204 Graves Hall
205-348-6058

Dr. Liza Wilson

Professor, Secondary Social Science
ewilson@ua.edu
205-348-6051

Dr. Bedrettin Yazan

Assistant Professor, Secondary Language Acquisition and Teaching
byazan@ua.edu
205-348-8185
website

Dr. Jeremy Zelkowski

Associate Professor, Secondary Mathematics
jzelkowski@ua.edu
205-348-9499