The Department of Curriculum and Instruction prepares prospective teachers committed to ethical instruction and disciplinary expertise who advance the intellectual and social conditions of all learners and prepares researchers and educational leaders for careers in university settings and in any number of government and precollege school settings.  The Department of Curriculum and Instruction is comprised of programs in early childhood/elementary education and secondary curriculum, teaching, and learning.  Degrees are listed and certifications that can be obtained are listed below each degree.

Department Head:  Dr. Miguel Mantero 

Main Office:  201 Autherine Lucy Hall


Elementary Education Secondary Education

Degrees

BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN EDUCATION

  • Elementary Education
    • Elementary Education and Early Education (K-6 and PreK-3)
  • Secondary Education
    • English Language Arts (6-12); Foreign Language (French, German, Latin, or Spanish) (6-12 or P-12); General Social Science (6-12); Mathematics (6-12); Science

MASTER OF ARTS

  • Elementary Education
    • Elementary Education (K-6)
  • Secondary Education
    • Biology (6-12); Chemistry (6-12); English Language Arts (6-12); English as a Second Language (P-12); Foreign Language (French, German, Latin, or Spanish) (6-12 or P-12); Geography (6-12); General Social Science (6-12); Mathematics (6-12); Reading (P-12)

MASTER OF ARTS (Alternative Route)

The Alternative Master of Arts degree is aimed at students with an undergraduate degree in a non-teaching field who wish to gain an alternative A certificate which enables them to teach in the public schools.

  • Elementary and Early Childhood Education
    • Elementary Education and Early Education (K-6 and PreK-3)
  • Secondary Education
    • Biology (6-12); Chemistry (6-12); English For Speakers of Other Languages (P-12); Foreign Language (French, German, Latin, or Spanish) (6-12 or P-12); Geography (6-12) ;General Social Science (6-12); General Science; General Social Science Geography; Mathematics (6-12); Physics; Physics and Mathematics (6-12)

EDUCATIONAL SPECIALIST

  • Elementary Education
    • Elementary Education (K-6)
  • Secondary Education
    • Biology (6-12); Chemistry (6-12) ;English For Speakers of Other Languages (P-12); English Language Arts (6-12); Geography (6-12) ;History (6-12); Mathematics (6-12)

DOCTORAL DEGREES

Certificates

People

Dr. Christina Brommer

Clinical Assistant Professor, C&I cbvanzandt@ua.edu

Dr. Tammy Brown

Clinical Associate Professor, C&I tammy.c.brown@ua.edu

Dr. Lori Bruner

Assistant Professor, Elementary Literacy
lbruner1@ua.edu

Dr. Cory Callahan

Associate Professor, Secondary Social Science cwcallahan@ua.edu

Dr. Julianne Coleman

Professor, Elementary Literacy
jucoleman@ua.edu
elementary literacy teacher education
P-6 visual literacy comprehension of multimodal science texts

Dr. Shannon Davidson

Assistant Professor, Science Education
sgdavidson1@ua.edu

Dr. Melissa Fowler

Clinical Professor, Science Education
mfowler@ua.edu
STEM professional identity development

Erin Geiger

Clinical Instructor and
Director, Gadsden Early Learning Initiative
egeiger@ua.edu

Dr. Alison Hooper

Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Education
alhooper2@ua.edu

Dr. Latrise Johnson

Associate Professor, Secondary English Language Arts Education
lpjohnson5@ua.edu

Dr. Cailin Kerch

Clinical Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Education
cjkerch@ua.edu

Patrick Kimbrell

Secondary Support
pwkimbrell@ua.edu

Allison Lammi

ELED Support
alammi@ua.edu

Becca Langford

Program Assistant, C&I
relangford@ua.edu

Dr. Miguel Mantero

Department Head and Professor, Educational Linguistics
mmantero@ua.edu

Dr. Lisa Matherson

Clinical Associate Professor, Secondary Social Science
lhmatherson@ua.edu

Hailey Ray

Office Associate II, Secondary Programs
hnpatton@ua.edu

Dr. Jon Shemwell

Associate Professor, Secondary Science Education
jtshemwell@ua.edu

Stephen Smith

C&I Travel and Grant Support
slsmith13@ua.edu

Dr. Tori Smith

Assistant Professor, Secondary Social Studies Education
vdsmith4@ua.edu

Dr. Emily Sims

Associate Dean for Student Services & Clinical Associate Professor, Secondary English Language Arts
emsims@ua.edu

Dr. Karen Spector

Associate Professor, Secondary English Language Arts kspector@ua.edu

Dr. Jee Kyung Suh

Assistant Professor, Science Education jksuh@ua.edu

Dr. Holly Hilboldt Swain

Clinical Associate Professor, Early Childhood Education & Literacy hhswain@ua.edu

Melissa Webb Walton

Clinical Instructor, C&I and Gadsden Early Learning Initiaitive mawebb@ua.edu

Dr. Liza Wilson

Sr. Associate Dean and Professor, Social Studies Education
ewilson@ua.edu

Dr. Jeremy Zelkowski

Associate Professor, Secondary Mathematics
jzelkowski@ua.edu
mathematical college readiness
measurement in mathematics education
programmatic design