The Department of Curriculum and Instruction prepares prospective teachers committed to ethical instruction and disciplinary expertise who advance the intellectual and social conditions of all learners and prepares researchers and educational leaders for careers in university settings and in any number of government and precollege school settings.  The Department of Curriculum and Instruction is comprised of programs in early childhood/elementary education and secondary curriculum, teaching, and learning.  Degrees are listed and certifications that can be obtained are listed below each degree.

Department Head:  Dr. Miguel Mantero 

Main Office:  201 Graves


Elementary Education Secondary Education

Degrees

BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN EDUCATION

  • Elementary Education
    • Elementary Education and Early Education (K-6 and PreK-3)
  • Secondary Education
    • English Language Arts (6-12); Foreign Language (French, German, Latin, or Spanish) (6-12 or P-12); General Social Science (6-12); Mathematics (6-12); Science

MASTER OF ARTS

  • Elementary Education
    • Elementary Education (K-6)
  • Secondary Education
    • Biology (6-12); Chemistry (6-12); English Language Arts (6-12); English as a Second Language (P-12); Foreign Language (French, German, Latin, or Spanish) (6-12 or P-12); Geography (6-12); General Social Science (6-12); Mathematics (6-12); Reading (P-12)

MASTER OF ARTS (Alternative Route)

The Alternative Master of Arts degree is aimed at students with an undergraduate degree in a non-teaching field who wish to gain an alternative A certificate which enables them to teach in the public schools.

  • Elementary and Early Childhood Education
    • Elementary Education and Early Education (K-6 and PreK-3)
  • Secondary Education
    • Biology (6-12); Chemistry (6-12); English For Speakers of Other Languages (P-12); Foreign Language (French, German, Latin, or Spanish) (6-12 or P-12); Geography (6-12) ;General Social Science (6-12); General Science; General Social Science Geography; Mathematics (6-12); Physics; Physics and Mathematics (6-12)

EDUCATIONAL SPECIALIST

  • Elementary Education
    • Elementary Education (K-6)
  • Secondary Education
    • Biology (6-12); Chemistry (6-12) ;English For Speakers of Other Languages (P-12); English Language Arts (6-12); Geography (6-12) ;History (6-12); Mathematics (6-12)

DOCTORAL DEGREES

Certificates

People

Dr. Christina Brommer

Clinical Assistant Professor, C&I cbvanzandt@ua.edu

Dr. Tammy Brown

Clinical Associate Professor, C&I tammy.c.brown@ua.edu

Dr. Cory Callahan

Associate Professor, Secondary Social Science cwcallahan@ua.edu

Dr. Julianne Coleman

Professor, Elementary Literacy Education jucoleman@ua.edu elementary literacy teacher ed. Pk-6 visual literacy comprehension of multimodal science texts

Dr. Lisa Fowler

Clinical Associate Professor, Science Education mfowler@ua.edu STEM professional identity development

Dr. Tracey Hodges

Assistant Professor, Literacy Education thodges@ua.edu website

Dr. Alison Hooper

Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Education alhooper2@ua.edu

Dr. Janie Hubbard

Associate Professor, Elementary Social Studies hubba018@ua.edu cultural issues elementary education social studies teacher education

Dr. Todd Hutner

Assistant Professor, Secondary Science tlhutner@ua.edu education policy teacher cognition teacher education

Dr. Latrise Johnson

Associate Professor, Secondary English Language Arts lpjohnson5@ua.edu literacy qualitative inquiry/methodology writing instruction

Dr. Cailin Kerch

Clinical Assistant Professor cjkerch@ua.edu

Becca Langford

Program Assistant, C&I relangford@ua.edu

Dr. Miguel Mantero

Department Head and Professor, Educational Linguistics mmantero@ua.edu

Dr. Lisa Matherson

Clinical Associate Professor, Secondary Social Science lhmatherson@ua.edu  205-348-3125

Dr. Jonathan Shemwell

Associate Professor, Secondary Science Education jtshemwell@ua.edu 205-348-9258 science education

Stephen Smith

C&I Travel and Grant Support slsmith13@ua.edu 204 Graves 205-348-6070

Dr. Emily Sims

Associate Dean for Student Services & Clinical Associate Professor, Secondary English Language Arts Incoming fall 2021

Dr. Karen Spector

Associate Professor, Secondary English Language Arts kspector@ua.edu 205-348-5618
[/ua_image_boxes]

Dr. Jee Kyung Suh

Assistant Professor, Science Education jksuh@ua.edu

Dr. Holly Hilboldt Swain

Clinical Associate Professor, Early Childhood Education & Literacy hhswain@ua.edu

Dr. Casedy Thomas

Assistant Professor, Math Education cathomas14@ua.edu 

Melissa Webb Walton

Clinical Instructor, C&I mawebb@ua.edu 

Amanda Wells

Secondary Program Support ajwells1@ua.edu 204 Graves Hall

Dr. Liza Wilson

Senior Associate Dean & Professor, Secondary Social Science ewilson@ua.edu

Dr. Sheunghyun Yeo

Assistant Professor, Elementary Mathematics syeo@ua.edu

Dr. Jeremy Zelkowski

Associate Professor, Secondary Mathematics jzelkowski@ua.edu mathematical college readiness measurement in mathematics education programmatic design website